Gave Away my Prized Possession!

20231008_190206.jpg

Those who know me closely know that I'm a huge enthusiast of all things automotive. So much so that I took up mechanical engineering just because I loved cars.

Unfortunately, it had nothing to do with what I loved about cars but that's a story for another day.

So, I have been a car freak since the age of 2 when I was first gifted with a toy car by my uncle for my 2nd birthday. I used to collect a lot of toy cars in my childhood- mostly HotWheels along with my brother.

It was in my teenage years that I came across automotive magazines in a book store and in 2010, I transitioned from collecting toy cars into collecting car magazines.

I have collected various different automotive magazines in the span of these 13+ years- mostly TopGear and Motoring.

We didn't have a lot of stuff on the internet back then so the only source of pictures and information about new car launches would be through these magazines.

I used to love reading the travelogs and watching pictures and involve myself in the travel story in these magazines.

In 2015, when I got my first bike- a KTM Duke 200, I transitioned from a car guy to a bike guy and traveled a distance of over 50000+kms on my motorcycle- the main adventure being the 11000kms cross country ride.

From then on I stopped focusing too much on cars, although cars were my first love and still are, and focused on motorcycles.

I was mostly involved in doing than reading about it. Whatever places I used to read about in 2010 to 2013, I traveled to those places from 2015 to 2018.

From mountain ranges to deserts to valleys of my country, I've toured most of these places, yet there are tons of places left to visit.

Recently, I was clearing my room and house of old stuff and came across this collection of magazines which were gathering dust. I hadn't opened them in ages.

I thought a lot about whether I needed them or if I should let them go.

Any info you want is available on the internet anyways.

And besides, here's the thing:

When you don't have a use for something and you still keep holding on to it, it just occupies space and doesn't allow new things to enter your life.

After much hesitation, I finally decided to give them away and to move on with my life.

I didn't want to give it away to just anybody. I wanted it to go into someone's hands who would value it as much as I did.

I posted regarding the same on my instagram story.

I got a few guys wanting to pick it up.

Fortunately two of them were enthusiasts just like myself.

One of the guy said he used to visit all the scrapyards to check if they have a collection of old car magazines.

Such was his level of passion to collect old car magazines.

I gave most of it away to him. And the other few to another guy.

It was nice to know that the magazines went into the right hands.

Here's another picture of my prized possession that's not my prized possession anymore.

Putting it on the blockchain so that it remains here forever for me to see it in the future.

20231008_190234.jpg

So that's the story of me giving away something I valued.

Because in life, you can't hold on to things and expect something new to happen.

Life is just like crossing the monkey bars. You have to let go at some point to move forward.

I hope reading this helps you let go of something that you have been holding onto that isn't letting you move forward in life.

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.