Bhagvad Gita: Life Lessons to Live by #1

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

I had ordered a copy of The Bhagvad Gita According to Gandhi - a rare book that I have found only in few stores.

Source: Bhagavadgita.io

It arrived today evening and I just finished reading the Introduction titled "Anasaktiyoga: The Gospel of Selfless Action" and the first chapter.

I'll share a few lessons that I took notes of and would be very helpful if practiced in life for people of any faith.

Do your allotted work but renounce its fruit - be detached and work - have no desire for reward and work. ~Gita

He who gives up action falls.
He who gives up only the reward rises.

In this Vsaya (author of Gita) explains that we should do our work but never do it thinking about the fruits.

He also says that action should never be stopped. We should keep doing our action without having expectations of fruits.

It's also mentioned that he who renounces reaps a thousandfold.

I was at a point where I was very much in a dilemma regarding the fruits of my labour, whether I would reap them later or not. And that was not allowing me to give 100% efforts into action. This lesson has surely changed my mindset and put me in a better position to focus only on the work and not on the results.

Sort:  

Powerful lesson!

What I understood is, if your after rewards you are just tunnel visioning, you don't enjoy the process. All you care about is the reward.

Looking forward to the next lesson.😇

That's a different way of looking at it! ;)
Next lesson is up!