Dating Hazards

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

woman-2937216_1280.jpg

Some dates look at you differently and you know extinctively that they are a tad on the desperate side. Their crazy eyes bleed out a desperation their words may suppress.

Online dating takes that to a whole new level. I learned early on that emails and messages can hide a multitude of feelings as each message can be well thought out, but face to face dates can quickly reveal the hidden quirks and intentions. It's best to schedule a meeting before too much time passes so that you can determine what is really going on.

I won't bore you on online dating to-dos, but the best way to meet a new date is far enough from home to stay private and in a public place with a time frame in place. You can always schedule a second date and have a backup plan in place for early exit if you feel uncomfortable.

I also won't bore you about the guy I met who spent the hour or so we met teaching me how he makes horseradish sauce. He was relatively harmless. No need to get into the meeting with the guy who wanted to kiss me immediately to "get it out of the way" and whose car died in the parking lot so I needed to help him get a battery jump.

The most uncomfortable one who had a cool name asked me to get a hotel the night we met. Nope, don't think there won't be obstacles to meeting new dates, just have a plan securely set and a number to call or text your SOS to.

I sure am happy I'm off the dating grid!

SRC

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt crazy eyes.
Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join
hive-161155 @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Sort:  

Is that all?
I think these days dating stands similar as having free sex. A guy literally told me why paying a whore if he could get it for free this way.
I doubt people are serious on those sites at all and personally I would grab my chance to be 200% honest via the internet.

Here you have the opportunity to show your list with likes and dislikes without even getting out of your chair. What a luxury. If that person doesn't fit you have a great delete button.

If you meet in real life people lie, dress up too and brag or...
Meeting in person is always good especially going out for lunch or dinner. The way people eat tells you a lot about them.

You tries that sauce?

!trdo 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wakeupkitty, you successfuly trended the post shared by @wandrnrose7!
@wandrnrose7 will receive 0.36705150 TRDO & @wakeupkitty will get 0.24470100 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thank you for the update @trendotoken

Thanks @wakeupkitty. I actually did both online and offline dating for years intermittently and went years in between where I didn't date and my observations of rl dating were also of men who lied, too. I got to the point I was staying single and by accident mer my fiance at the local hair salon, of all places. The freewrite was just some quirky experiences that came out like freewrites do :)
Have a wonderful day.

@wandrnrose7 I guess where you met your fiance is the best way.
Still I wonder why not being honest. It is so much easier online as in real life although I am always my nasty old self and if I say so people don't believe me.

Happy day ❤️

I am not sure, actually? I think it's because they don't think you'll like them. 🤗

@wandrnrose7 Big chance but if you keep up appearances and lie sooner or later they will not like you either.
Not that I can scare away my ex with being honest, straight, nasty... 😅

LOL that's a problem when you can't even scare them away!

You met him at a hair salon? Is this in one of your blog posts? I missed. #Quirky is my favorite kind of fiction and the best of it usually comes straight from real life.
I'm also soooo glad to be out of the dating game. We've passed the 30-year anniversary, so I've now been married for more years than I was ever single. Half my life. No regrets!
Crazy eyes - love what you did with this prompt - and know all too well what you describe!

I attended the wedding of a guy who met his wife online via CatholicMatch.com, and it was a year before she agreed to a second date with him. It isn't always love at first sight. :)

@carolkean Love grows and in love seldom stays.
❤️

My favorite was the guy who told me all about his prostate in the first five minutes. I stood up and said "I'm afraid I have to go." then left. He actually contacted me again!

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-837-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-snot

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

LOL that one is priceless! Thank you for the prompt and have a wonderful day.

'It appears your dating profile hasn't been getting that many views, have you thought about trying without photos'?

I read that somewhere in relation to online dating.

I remember once three tinder profiles coming up in a row, different women but all with pretty much exactly the same type of profile picture. Not that there's any point me being on there, I'm actually quite the babe for my age but I don't really do photos, it's just not my thing.

I think it's easier just to put yourself in real life situations where you're going to meet me(*) - if your'e still single join a running or cycling club and you've got at least a 3-1 ratio of guys in all age brackets! Or SteemFest for that matter!

I'd need to attend a dance or yoga class to get that ratio, problem is it'd probably be obvious I was on the prowl.

There's an opportunity here to set up Steem Dates, nice play on words possible there too.

(*) that was supposed to say men, but it was such a perfect typo I had to leave it in!

Hi! Thanks for reading and commenting. I actually have been off the market for a lot of years. I met a wonderful guy local and we are getting married this July.

To answer your question I did actually try online dating sans a photo and met a man who I dated for five years. He had some hidden very bad qualities that began to surface which caused me to end that relationship (gladly he postponed popping the question because he wanted to get his first marriage annulled by the Catholic church.
They say finding the right one happens when you aren't looking and at least for me that was true. I had gone three years happy to be single after a man I had developed feelings for died suddenly way too young (38) of an aortic aneurysm.
I hope all is well your way and have a wonderful day!

Wow!

Sounds like you've been through a crazy journey, congrats on the marriage, at last!

All is well here, I'm not really looking that hard at all TBH!

I do agree with your opinions about dating. Do your best, regards.

Thank you for reading and commenting! Yes, it's a challenging world for daters these days.

It needs creativity for dating during the cryptos and blockchain era, right? ehehe

lol at the "crazy eyes"! Well I have been in a relationship for 8 years so I would not have a clue as to what goes on in the dating world anymore and even less so on the "online dating" front. haha!

Haha glad you found a good relationship! I am actually engaged to a great guy and planning a July wedding. I personally hated dating lol! Take care and thanks for stopping over to read and comment.❤

Oh that is wonderful!!! Congrats! For us, that would be a Winter wedding :D What sort of "style" wedding do you have in mind? You strike me as the type of person that would do something unique.... :)

Thank you! We are exploring Steam Punk, but I haven't found my dress yet 🤪. Wedding planning is not my forte! My daughter in law is helping with the planning and decorating.

Oh what an AWESOME idea!!!!! How fun!!!! I hope you plan to share the photos afterward. Good luck with all the plans!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Congratulations @wandrnrose7! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 95000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @wandrnrose7, your post successfully recieved 0.3670515 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@wakeupkitty earned : 0.244701 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

As a member of the @Council - Community Curator Service, this post has received a 100.00% upvote.

Members of the community can all chip in to Power UP. Become a member todat, delegate 10 or more Steem Power (SP) to @Council to receive upvote and resteem.
Here's the link to delegate https://on.king.net/council10sp it will redirect to Steem Connect for a secure connection. We share the Steem Power of all members that delegate to Community Curator Service, sharing our SP for a stronger upvote.

Thank you.
Project Powered by Steemians