Friendship Bread

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

img_0.19189524785757547.jpg

I remember friendship bread

They used to call it Amish bread, too. I just remember how ladies at church would gift each other with starter dough in a jar for baking delicious sour dough bread. I received and I gave. Any glass jar would do, it's best to cover the jar with cloth so that the yeast could breathe as it worked.

If you were fortunate enough to receive your gift of starter dough, fresh bread would soon grace your family's table for months to come.

The dough requires regular feeding with sugar and flour. I don't quite remember all the details now; it's been decades since I baked it. When the dough was ready you could bake all kinds of variations of sour dough bread. My favorite variety was sweet bread. I can still smell the yeasty sweet smell and remember biting into warm, buttery bread. I wish I had a working oven right now! It has been decades since I had or baked some friendship bread, but that is something you never forget.

If you get a new neighbor or move into a new neighborhood this is a great and inexpensive welcoming gift and takes relatively little time to start.

IMG

This is my five
minute freewrite using prompt sour dough hosted by @mariannewest.

Twitter handle is:
@wandrnrose7

gab Handle:
@wandrnrose7

MeWe Handle
@wandrnrose7

Please add me if you are also on these sites! ❤

Sort:  

I agree that a freshly baked bread is the best gift to welcome anyone. Somehow, the smell of it just bring out the smiles. I do miss my bread maker back home.

I never had a bread maker! Oooooh now I am tempted! Thanks for stopping by!

Oh yes.. On e u have one.. U will never stop baking 😄

Haha.... here comes a bread belly 😋.

In our community it was called Amish Friendship Bread, and I remember my mother had some starter for a while. I have a book on how to get sourdough starter going, but I've never tried it.

Oh, yes, you should! Thank you for reading and commenting, dear. I hope all is well for you.

Realmente nunca he comido pan hecho de esa forma que yo recuerde. Claro que si he comido pan, pero donde vivo son algo así como pan industrializado.

It's truly delicious 😋😍