Keep Your Implants, for Now

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

img_0.00739887161275407.jpg
original photograph by author

They make implants now for people with migraines, like me. Personally I don't want anything implanted in my body that wasn't there when God made me.

I will make exceptions for something like a screw for a broken bone. When the podiatrist did the bunion surgery for my right foot, he put in a temporary screw and then six months later he took it back out.

Surgeries changed a lot from when I had my other foot done. I was a young mom of one maybe two babies… around age 24. It was so long ago I can hardly remember, except the pain and not being allowed to walk for a least a month. The healing on the second foot with the screw was much quicker. I was 38. Flat feet can lead to bunions. Fun fact, I was never able to wear high heels until my first surgery. The other foot grew worse once I worked outside of the home.

There's lots of talk about implants these days and what they can do for you. Elon Musk, the bazillionaire who owns Tesla and SpaceX, works on an implant into the brain so that humans can connect to a computer through AI [Artificial Intelligence] and become superhuman. Not scarey?

Move on over Star Trek. The future is here! Perhaps my grandkids will visit Mars and transport back and forth? The Doom and Gloom of Greta Thurnberg, the Green New Deal, etc, and Bill Gates who wants us all eating bugs to save the planet, while he chomps a burger as he discusses how we (not he) need to make a change while he secretly works on eugenics plans and prefers real beef.

Would I eventually get an implant for migraine? I don't know, but who knows. Some day it may be appealing, like Botox, which I resisted at least three years when my PCP (primary care physician) recommended the neurologist I use now for the injections since they helped his nephew. (Botulism in my face?)

Easy peasy, but the injections still hurt and sometimes trigger a migraine. On March 3rd God gave me a pass. They still hurt. Then I received my first an allergy shot from my PCP..that really hurt and failed to help noticeably.

Today I started to get (another) migraine. I had one when the temperature went up this week to 64F. Today the barometric pressure dropped.

We may see snow tomorrow after a second beautiful day of sun.

I received a new drug in my migraine kit today, Ubrelvy. I needed a prior authorization from my neurologist to get it. I took generic excedrin first as my thoughts became fragmented, and my speech slurish.

I then took a walk wearing my treat-to-myself designer prescription sunglasses from Michael Korspurchased with the balance of last year's FSA (flex spending account) card.

It was super breezy on the walk, but I made it around a country block and grabbed some food before logging back on the phones. The migraine took a hike!

No implants quite yet for me.
Thanks for reading! If you value my content, please hit subscribe and reblog!

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord , thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.
Jeremiah 29:11 KJV

This is my five
minute freewrite using prompt implant hosted by @mariannewest.

Twitter handle is:
@wandrnrose7

gab Handle:
@wandrnrose7

MeWe Handle
@wandrnrose7

Please add me if you are also on these sites! ❤

Sort:  

I am glad that the migraine went away!

Congratulations @wandrnrose7! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 17000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP