Respect the Goose.

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

img_0.6781035411322969.jpg

I remember cocky Maverick played by Tom Cruise in the film Top Gun. I'm not a Tom Cruise groupie, but I'm a Top Gun story fan.

What hit me hard in the film was the death of Maverick's best friend, Goose. He felt like he had family in his best friend. [I identify with that regarding own best friend, Kim] Sudden tragic death of a young healthy man and father is never easy to accept.

Top Gun develops through young Maverick's character metamorphosis. He arrives overconfident to an elite combat training school; cocky and overconfident. Pride gets in his way depicted in air combat drills which Maverick uses to prove a point and show off his skills by making a foolish fly by of another combatant trainee.

Maverick was pleased with himself but the behavior earned him a dressing down from his superior regarding reckless behavior and a treat of expulsion for risking lives foolishly and damaging his superior's faith in his ability to be dependable for his fellow pilots.

Goose dies of a tragic accident unexpectedly during another day of combat flight training. Maverick loses his best friend and changes in that moment. Grief nearly drives him to quit the elite school.

Some things never make sense and we look back and keep looking back, but we cannot do this for too long without losing ourselves. My most painful lessons in life were often followed by my deepest convictions and changes of heart.

SRC

This is my five
minute freewrite using prompt respect the goose hosted by @mariannewest.

Twitter handle is:
@wandrnrose7

gab Handle:
@wandrnrose7

MeWe Handle
@wandrnrose7

Please add me if you are also on these sites! ❤

Sort:  

Heck of an Ariel movie too..

Sure was! My fiancé is a hobby pilot, so he tells me all the issues on it. I liked the story and the romance. Win 🏆✌. Thank you for reading and commenting!

I am sorry for the loss of your friend Kim. The death of a young man and father is hard. I also had a male friend named Kim who died a tragic death, he had a wife and young son. He went missing off of a commercial fishing boat while it was anchored offshore. His body was never found. :(

Ohhhh, Kim is by best friend and she is still alive.(thank you God for healing her of kidney sepsis) the intention was to relate to Goose and what would I feel if she (or my other best friend Sharon) were suddenly gone. I know this would crush me and so sorry for your friend. That is terrible. Thank you for reading and for your tender care. I think I should edit so as to make it not sound like she died!

I have been known to read things wrong, but I am happy you still have your friend.

Me too, thank you 😊