The Leaving

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

beanie2562646_1280.jpg

She walked quietly into the room and stood uncertainty in its center. Her son returned a week ago and barely said two words to her. For hours he stood staring out the window. Rain came down in a steady flow today. She mused that heaven must be drained of water by now, like her eyes from tears, it seemed.

She cleared her throat to announce her presence in the room, but she didn't need to. Peter was on high alert constantly. His arm was hanging loosely at his shoulder. His shirt sleeve hung conspicuously, pinned at the elbow. He turned and stared at the petite woman in the room as though he didn't know her at all.

"It's time for dinner, Peter. I made your old favorite; southern fried chicken and mashed potatoes."

"Thank you, Mother."

He moved towards the bathroom and she heard the water turn on.

Seated at the small table she passed him a cup of tea. He began filling his plate with steaming chicken and green beans.

"Did you plan on seeing Mark at all?"

Peter looked at her with a curious expression at the mention of his school friend's name, "I haven't given it much thought, Mother."

He focused on his plate and the fork rang out when it hit porcelain.

"Mother? I returned just to tell you I'm leaving again shortly."

"But...but...I don't understand, Peter?"

"Apart from you, Mother, Handelburg holds nothing for a man like me." He lifted his amputated arm in emphasis and put another forkful of potatoes in his mouth, washing it down with a swig of tea.

"I'm actually leaving tomorrow morning. I have a job interview is Fontlairane. I'm hoping that the manager can use a disabled veteran."

His mother got up and walked to his chair. She leaned over and rested her cheek on his for just a moment, then took her plate to the kitchen. Peter glimpsed a tear trail down her cheek and the muscle in his jaw twitched.

"I'll send a ticket for you, Mother. You will visit me soon?"

The water turned on in the kitchen as she began cleaning the pans.

IMG

This is my five
minute freewrite using prompt standing at the window hosted by @mariannewest
Twitter handle is:
@wandrnrose7

Gab Handle:
@wandrnrose7

Parler Handle:
@wandrnrose7

TsU Handle:
@wandrnrose7

Please add me if you are also on these sites! ❤

Sort:  

That was a very sad story. But I like it anyway.

It was sad. I guess Although sad movies where people are standing by the window affected this freewrite. I'm happy that you liked it and stopped by to read! 😄❤

So sad.
I really enjoyed reading it.

Been a while here and Happy New year @wandrnrose7

Thank you for reading. Yes, my writers block kicked in this past year. Trying to get back to writing.

Heartbreaking
I could feel his pain and hers...

Yes, it's awful that this happens to so many young people. :( thanks for reading.