My disability

in Freewriters3 months ago

My disability is in my shortsightedness, In my inability to see the bigger picture of things or the consequences of my actions and inactions.

As a fashion designer, I understood clearly the meaning of being shortsighted when I was invited to attend a local show, just for fashion designers, to showcase our talents and perhaps to get a wider recognition. As a struggling entrepreneur, I really needed an opportunity like this, I knew I had great talents, people always told me of how I could become a "Versace" or a "Ralph Lauren" and walk the celebrities' runway, if and only if I could get the right exposure.

As the show approached, I made up my mind I was going to leave a lasting impression on the judges, so I poured all my energy and resources into creating stunning designs and when I say stunning designs, I mean stunning designs.

But in my shortsightedness, I failed to put into consideration, the financial implications of this endeavour.

When I saw the danger of loosing all that I have worked for, looming in the horizon, I knew I had to act fast. If only I had had the foresight of laying every plan on the table, to factor in, the funds needed to get through to the local show, things would have played out differently.

With this I learnt that creativity alone would not get me there, I must learn to balance creativity with practicality.

Please upvote, comment and reblog.

Sort:  

Or be creative with the finances 🤐