Night Terrors

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)

night_table_lamp_843461_1920.jpg

Reaching over to the nightstand, I checked the time on my phone. The bright blue light burned my irises, but soon enough I adjusted to the attack on my senses.

03:12

     “Another bad dream and I think it may be worth heading downstairs,” I muttered to myself. Turning back over in bed, I pulled the covers up over my shoulder and snuggled into my pillow, closing my eyes once more and trying to quiet my brain.

     A scream from my lips pierced the quiet as I awoke in a sweat. Gripping at my chest, I struggled through panicked breaths for air before grabbing at my phone once more.

03:54

     Not even one more hour of sleep. Fuck. I headed downstairs and poured myself a cold glass of water in the dark, looking out of the kitchen window as the sun slowly rose in the distance.


Today's prompt: night stand

Image Source

If you'd like to participate too, the contest can be found here: https://ecency.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-1347-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-nightstand

Sort:  

Those nights are absolutely the bottom of the barrel. I hate sleepless nights! Enjoyable post, thank you for sharing.

Hi @zedcell,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @zedcell! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP


Congratulations @zedcell!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!