A Touch of Whiskey

in Blockchain Poets11 months ago


IMG_7423.jpeg

(1)

Slowly the faces
have begun to re-emerge
from under their masks.

(2)

What she must have thought
when she caught us undressing
each other in the road.

(3)

Today is the day
I gave up on hot coffee
and ordered it iced.

(4)

How can it be that
the air is so heavy?
I think I’ll stay in bed.

(5)

The smell of jelly
donuts on my way to work;
I feel young again.

(6)

Hooray! I’ve outlived
the daisies in my garden
for another year.

(7)

a touch of whiskey
just before bed
to recall the day


As always, thanks for reading.

All feedback, thoughts, suggestions, criticisms, etc. are welcomed.

Sort:  

I like these!! I feel like I have been through a day with you, but I would have had a lemon martini while you sipped your whiskey, as we sat and watched the bats emerge from the shutters just beore bed. A simple day, of memories, sweetness, and just a touch of sadness. Perhaps a hip or thumb or knee complaining. Very simple, very deep, very clear. The simplest poems are sometimes the deepest. The deepest thoughts need only simple words to be said. Delightful stuff. Thank you for posting them.

I haven’t enjoyed a comment as much as this in a very long time.

I love how you just stepped into and made the poems your own and then shared your world with me. I can totally see it, a whiskey glass next to a martini glass, the bodies of bats contorting and crawling out of tiny places, the quiet and simple glances that communicate a soreness in the body, etc.

And then a very eloquent statement about writing and poetry.

Thank you.

Some poems or stories just do that to me - I am inspired to freewrite in response, often in poetry. Thank you for enjoying my comment, perhaps as much as I enjoyed your tiny poems. I see you write seven short poems regularly. I'll be watching for more of those.

I sometimes have that reaction to posts, too. It feels like a special compliment to hear that something I’ve written has inspired that reaction in another.

I post one short poem a day on Threads and then group them into a post here on Mondays.

Please stop by again.

AHAHAHA! These made me smile, thank you! Two is my favorite, how mischievous 🤣

Thank you. I like that one too. I toyed with a different last line because it would have preserved the 5-7-5 syllable structure, but I decided in the case to break the syllable count because I liked this last line too much.

Plus, this one is the most autobiographic, and the other line wouldn’t have captured the moment in my memory accurately.

Interesting way to write poetry and get some points out there and things off your chest. I think I will give this a try. Thanks for the inspiration.

Send me a link when you do.

I love number three, change is the only thing constant in life you know.

It’s very true.

I don’t know about you, but my year tends to be divided into hot coffee and iced coffee season. When the day comes that I make the shift, it always feels like I’ve moved on to a new portion of the year.

Beautiful verses.
Each verse still reflects a piece of life. An instant of experiences in a cyclical routine.

Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Thank you. That’s what I’m trying to capture, those little unique moments throughout the day, and sometimes they way they connect to bigger issues and/or emotions.

you're doing great. Follow the path of words.

Take care.
Good day.

Thank you for your encouragement.

You ❤️

Congratulations @boxcarblue! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 38000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 39000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!