playing peekaboo

in Blockchain Poets14 days ago (edited)


IMG_2173.jpeg

a music festival, a treehouse, a tire swing, hammocks, kids with BB guns, Costco, IKEA, a zoo, a small amusement park, smoke from a forest fire, driving, driving, and more driving

green mountains, snow-capped mountains, foggy mornings, hazy afternoons, clear nights, day drinking, birthdays and anniversaries, a bbq, summer-like heat, spring rains, flowers, flowers, and more flowers

Golden Week, a string of national holidays in Japan at the end of April and beginning of May which are often used for traveling.

This year, instead of taking an extended vacation, my family and I made the most of day trips, which meant a lot of time in the car. As the sole driver, that gave me a lot of time to take in new scenery and turn it into haiku.

Here are the results.


IMG_2172.jpeg

(1)

swooping through
the haze of a hangover
a blackbird

(2)

next to a blue pill
the words Christ has risen
billboard battles

(3)

waiting in line
outside the fish market
neighborhood cats

(4)

kids climbing the walls
all along the highway
wild wisteria

(5)

broad conical hats
working in the fields
a time slip

(6)

sirens in the night
someone else’s misfortune
this time

(7)

playing peekaboo
on a winding valley road
a snowy mountain


IMG_2174.jpeg

As always, thank you for reading.

All poems and images are original. If you have any comments, feedback, or suggestions, please feel free to share them.

Sort:  

I enjoyed all of your haiku

"sirens in the night
someone else’s misfortune
this time"

Always flits across my mind when I hear sirens.....

I rarely think about it, but it’s always true.

The other night, I was walking my toddler outside, trying to get him to fall asleep when a number of rescue vehicles passed very closely through the neighborhood. I couldn’t see them or their flashing lights, just hear them, and the thought came to me, perhaps because my wife was out doing the weekly grocery shopping and I was hoping that the sirens weren’t for her.

I sometimes wonder how I would raise my three kids alone if anything were to happen to her.

Well done! That poem came out really nicely. As I've gotten older I've found that I hate the driving, and driving, and driving even less! It sounds like you had a good time though even if only day trips. I'm at the point now that if I never had to drive long distance ever again I would be happy!

I suppose it would be just as nice to let someone else do the driving, but so long as it’s a car trip I’m going on, I’d just assume be in the driver’s seat. Somehow the time passes more easily for me that way.

 14 days ago  

You've received an upvote from the Blockchain Poets account. Thank you for submitting your poem to our community!

Thank you.

Congratulations @boxcarblue! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 63000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 64000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List