Hope | Part 1

I wrote this while watching Dickinson season 3. When I watched season 1 and 2, I was going through what might be a block. While I enjoyed the poems, I didn't create any. But this season, my words are back so this came out.

Take a look.


door-5060421_1280.jpg


Hope is like a bird
A thing with feathers
And blindingly beautiful colours
Flapping in rhythm
Mouth chirping as it flies

It's like love
The slender fingers of lovers
Entwined in peace and passion
Words unspoken yet understood
Feelings always on the surface

It's also exhausting
Like having little children
Feeding them, clothing them
Or waiting for a new born to come
Wishing it happens the day you want

I'd stick with birds and love
Maybe a little nature and quiet
The steps are easier that way
More accepting and brighter
Almost like a perfect world.


image source

Sort:  

Beutiful poem @chinyerevivian

The use of simile in this poem is masterful.

Hope is like a bird
A thing with feathers
And blindingly beautiful colours
Flapping in rhythm

And now I understand the second poem you wrote about hope much better in retrospect.

Than you, Raj. How have you been? Been a minute.

How have you been?

Hard to be honest. Ill health fckd me up, then my mum got lung cancer... then I got covid... but we're both still alive and that is something.

Life ticks on, and I took about 9 months off from hive/steem but was here through most of the bear market. It is kinda nice to see the bull take hold and help all us oldshoolers out a little more with rising prices :)

It has been a while. Nice to reconnect through poetry Chiny 🙂

I'm so sorry about your mum. I wish her all the comfort she needs. I'm glad you're better. Covid fucked up a lot of things. But like you said, we're alive and that's something.

It's really nice to talk to you again.

One word - Sublime!