Forgiveness Begins Within

In every step I've stumbled,
In every word I've misspoken,
A trail of tears I've left behind,
Hearts bruised and hearts broken.
With every breath, I've whispered sorry,
Trying to make amends,
But deep inside, the hurt remains,
Like thorns that never mend.

I've said sorry for the things I've done,
I've said sorry for the things I've said,
But the weight of guilt upon my soul never seems to shed.
I've sought forgiveness from others,
Hoping they would understand,
Yet the hardest one to forgive,
Is the person in the mirror.

For every mistake, I've blamed myself,
Carrying the burden alone,
Apologies echoed in silent cries,
In a heart that's turned to stone.
But now I realize, with clarity,
The truth that's hard to see,
That all this time,
I have actually been saying sorry to myself and not to them.

For I am the one who needs forgiveness,
I am the one who needs to heal,
To let go of the past mistakes,
To mend what time can't seal.
So here I stand, with open arms,
Ready to embrace,
The imperfect soul within me,
With love and grace.
image.png
source

Sort:  

This is a vital message to all. Something that needs to be known, practiced, and accepted. Healing comes from within, which is why there should always be time for self-care. To reflect on what was done and come to a conclusion, because at the end of the day;

*Yet the hardest one to forgive,
Is the person in the mirror.

We ought to forgive and heal from within.

This is a powerful feedback and I do much appreciate this. Indeed healing comes from within and you just did so well to spell this out. Thanks once again for this

You are welcome 😁

 12 days ago  

You've received an upvote from the Blockchain Poets account. Thank you for submitting your poem to our community!

Thanks so much