Sort:  

This is a really nice poem, but I thought a haiku is supposed to be 5 syllables, 7 syllables, and 5 syllables on the three consecutive lines of the piece. It doesn't look like this followed that pattern.
That aside, I like the concept.
I also wrote a haiku about a month ago in a poetry club meeting. They provided us an audio prompt and we were asked to speed-write. I wrote about a samurai and his hungry to perfection. That was my first haiku so it was a bit of a challenge being so strict with the syllables I use, but I enjoyed the experience.
Thanks for sharing.

That's the stereotype, in in truth there are multiple haiku schools which we might group into "modern" and "traditional". One follows a strict syllable count and the other doesn't.

Okay. This is interesting.
I'll definitely go back and do some more research into the structure of haikus.

The blossoms have begun appearing on this part of the world. Sadly, we don't have cool temples to hear the sound of a bell like that. It's a cultural experience that is missing from us. Thanks for sharing.

It is absolutely true that only people based on the Buddhism cultural background can understand this Haiku well. And we can even say that it should be a religious experience rather than a cultural experience for most of western readers from the Christian world. Yeah, it is said that such kind of temple bell sound can travel far away. The truth is there is a famous ancient Chinese poem which also describes the temple bell sound.

MOORING BY MAPLE BRIDGE AT NIGHT
枫桥夜泊
At moonset cry the crows, streaking the frosty sky,
月落乌啼霜满天,
Dimly lit fishing boats ‘neath maples sadly lie.
江枫渔火对愁眠。
Beyond the city walls, from Temple of Cold Hill,
姑苏城外寒山寺,
Bells break the ship-borne roamer’s dream and midnight still.
夜半钟声到客船。

That's a beautiful poem with vivid imagery. It nicely captures the city at that moment in time. Christian churches have bells, but they sound different because we bang them multiple times. The sound has different meaning for us (such as a signal for danger, time, wedding ceremony, church attendance, and death). While some places still ring them, the practice is not allowed in most large cities of North America. Thank you for your thorough explanation of the context behind the poems. Fun to read.

Great poem there! Who wrote that?

Its author is Zhang Ji/张继, a poet from Tang Dynasty. The history record about his lifetime is not much and it is the only poem of his being famously known and spread in China until now.

You're welcome!

Truly fascinating how poem can say a lot even with a few words or verses. It takes a creative mind to do such :)

Absolutely why I love haiku so much 😃

This was a really nice vacation from daily worries, I found myself lost in your words here... I've been considering re-reading the Te Ching, this must be my nudge :)

The way you described this indescribable feeling was perfect. I could feel the tenderness of your hands as you held the concept, careful not to smoosh it or drop it. Masterful 😁

Thanks 😃

The Tao te Ching is always worth rereading.

!LUV

In so little words, this Haiku made me feel like I was really listening to the echo of an old bell while smelling some flowers. I'm glad you gave context to the bell and the poem.

Glad you enjoyed it 😃