A peaceful night I thought that won't end (Poem) BlockchainPoets Weekly Prompt - Agony

in Blockchain Poets3 months ago
***Agony***

A peaceful night I thought that won't end

Our awaited TV program will be aired

We're eager watching justice as it prevails

I love the ideas you and I both share

Never thought that night would be the last

Couldn't hardly imagine soon you will past

You asked me to wake you up if you fell asleep

For tonight's case, you can't afford to skip

As I sat nearby you I saw flickered lights

Sound of three shots made me fright

Tap your shoulder and said "Papa, there might?"

"Might be burglars in our Yards, am I Right?"

Rather than answer you lay flat on the floor

Gasping for air, gush of blood made a pool

A bullet hole on your left neck bleeds

As I cry and scream for help and plead

A serene night was shattered by grieve

I wail, while in my arms still can't believe

Papa still bleeding as pale as a paper sheet

I tremble from cold all over down to my feet

Papa's arms lost its strength and vigor

An arm used to carry little me as I wish for

He is turning cold as winter, freeze my heart

I lost the summer and comfort of its warmth

-----------------------------------------julie808

Once, I was Papa's little darling. A crybaby and a scaredy cat, but then we all grew up. From the wisdom he left and the love that is still, and forever I keep. I continue my journey with courage and less fear.

May we all stay Blessed and Blissful. 🙏 😇 🍀 🌻

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Oh what a poem it captures the pain of losing someone dear and reminds me of...

It's been decades yet the pain visits me whenever I recall that tragic night. But,our life must go on and he asked me to carry on...🥹

How sad what happened to your father, this writing perfectly reflects the agony you went through in that sad moment but well just keep moving forward to the end and maintain his legacy at all times you move forward, thanks for sharing ♥

Thank you. It's been decades but there are times when the pain hunts me, writing is one of my outlets and relievers.

 3 months ago  

You've received an upvote from the Blockchain Poets account. Thank you for submitting your poem to our community!

Thank you and it's my pleasure to share it in such a wonderful community.😇

A harsh and sad poem, very well achieved, it is not easy to write from such a difficult situation, although time gives some perspective, though surely never a complete calm. I wonder, in a very personal way and as a non-native English speaker, if the poem would not have had more strength in free verse, without rhyme, letting that violence and other nuances be expressed somehow in the language itself, not only with the meaning of the words, but in the form of the poem. Greetings!
!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@agreste just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @julie808.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Thank you for the compliments. You are precisely right, as I brought up this poem i didn't just recall the memory but also the pain. I'll be pleased to share a free verse poem one of these days. Thank you for this advice. 🌻