A Gift from Nature and a Tiny Poem

Merry festive season to you all. I've been enjoying these darkest days with walks in the forest, and getting some writing in between cooking all the things and spending time with my family.

I have much to be grateful for, and my heart is full of love. I keep hope alive with thoughts of a bright future and count my blessings in the present.

One of my favorite things is hiking with my dog, which we try to do every day. Here are some recent photos of us out on the trail.


Me and Shelta on our favorite trail.

Throw the ball please mommy.


The Sweetest Gift


My favorite gift of the holiday season came a couple of days past solstice, when I was up on the trail after a fresh snow.

I saw deer tracks, squirrel tracks, mouse tracks and rabbit tracks. In fact, a few weeks ago a white rabbit raced down the trail in front of me while my dog was still up in the trees looking for it. Some interference was required on my part to call her off the chase so the rabbit could get away, but she listened. The rabbit scurried off and we continued on our hike.

But two mornings after solstice I saw lynx tracks! I didn't have my phone so no pictures, but it was so cool!

Yes, I'm still delighted by the whole thing. I followed the tracks in absolute joy that I was walking the same path a lynx walked hours earlier.

Lately I've seen what I think are bobcat tracks (unless it's a large feral living way up in the woods), but this is the first time I've seen lynx tracks on that trail. And no, they weren't cougar. I checked. The stride was too short for a cat that big. The paws were wide with lots of fur and the tracks barely pushed down the bit of snow we had. Definitely lynx.

What a wonderful gift from nature, to walk beside the tracks of such a reclusive, beautiful animal.


Note: I did not see an actual lynx, just tracks in the snow. (Lynx photo licensed via Canva)


A cozy little poem.


It's been a warm winter thus far, which is fine, considering last year we had -40 and frozen pipes for Boxing Day. The kids wish there was more snow but I'm sure it'll come. The lake is finally freezing, and yesterday, beneath the full moon, it sang.

I thought of this little poem and thought I'd share it with you.


(Icy lake: photo licensed via Canva)


The Singing Lake


The winter lake echoes,
Singing in the deep.
Whale song in the mountains.

Moonshine illuminates the surface
Where brave souls skate across
Newly formed ice.


That's it! Sometimes poems are short and sweet. If you've never heard ice hardening across a lake, it sounds remarkably like whale song.

I hope this season finds you with hope in your heart and gratitude in your life.

Thanks for reading! 💖


Whatever happens, keep singing your song!
Peace @Katrina-Ariel / @LeiaTalon


Check out my books!


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, and author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance). She writes Fantasy as Leia Talon, including Their Majesties' Pleasure interactive fiction, and books: Shelta's Songbook, Falling Through the Weaving, and Dragons in the Weaving. Visit her website at www.LeiaTalon.com

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

@tipu curate

Thank you for the tip, my friend! 💖

image.png
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ladiesofhive, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @katrina-ariel and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (6/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@katrina-ariel, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

sorry about u guys in the northern hemisphere but that harsh winter is very unhealthy and depressing for so many, nothing better than the sunny and summer season

I don't find it depressing at all. The snow is beautiful. The crisp air is refreshing. I love all the seasons. But yes, summer is also nice.

Your verses are a winter dance, soft movements of the pen that enchant like the dancer who slides on the ice doing her pirouettes.

Beautiful verses.
Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Thank you for reading! I appreciate the thoughtful comment. 💙

 5 months ago  

You've received an upvote from the Blockchain Poets account. Thank you for submitting your poem to our community!

Thanks for the support!

amazing .. just ice around you 😀😀

Being on an icy lake is a pretty amazing perspective, for sure.

Your piece is well written and excellent🤗Greetings

Thanks so much!

Welcome🤗

excellent post, best regards.

Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks!

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@pepetoken, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @katrina-ariel and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (2/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Wow, a lynx. What a majestic wild cat. I used to skate on shallow lakes as a kid and I adored watching the ice harden, and form different patterns. Must be cool to hear the sound of this phenomena in deeper lakes though. Btw, the poem sounds like a haiku 😉👍
Enjoy the festive season with your loved ones.

Oh nice! I haven't done much lake skating, but others here do. I don't go on the ice unless it's been there for a month and is covered in snow and thick enough that I'm not worried about falling in. And even then I always feel weird about walking on the ice, knowing there's a sizable lake beneath me. Meanwhile people are ice fishing and driving their quads and snowmobiles over it. 🤣 But I bet skating on a shallow lake would be really neat. And a wonderful feeling.

Yes! The poem felt like a haiku when I was writing it, but didn't quite fit into the format so I didn't force it. Thanks much for your thoughtful comment. Here's to a bright New Year!

I think this is the first time discovering your blog but the fine folks at #pypt seem to be big fans. Love the walks in the nature though I am glad lynx sightings are rare around here!

summer.jpg

I think my little guy would find out very quickly who is the boss when he went to play with one.

Love the poetry too. I think perhaps you should post more and join the cool kids in Dreemport discord if you can find the time.

Well, hello! I haven't been able to make it to PYPT in forever, though I try every so often and find I've missed it by hours. Fine folks indeed.

That's a handsome hound you've got there! Looks like a nice lake, too.

Thanks much for the thoughtful comment! I post as much as I can between mom-life and writing under deadlines. Sometimes months go by between posts, but I always come back to Hive for the sense of community and wonderful people I've met on this blockchain. 😊

No worries. Whether away from posting or your fans at #pypt, we will keep the lights on and welcome you back.

Been a long time since I heard that sound, is remarkable. Hope you have a safe New Year Princess 💝

!PIMP
!WINE
!PIZZA


You must be killin' it out here!
@enginewitty just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @katrina-ariel.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@enginewitty(1/15) tipped @katrina-ariel

The Sinking Lake paints a nice picture in my head of water frozen over with life walking across it. Very beautiful.

Congratulations @katrina-ariel! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 6 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the December PUM Winners
Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!