Luna

in Blockchain Poets3 years ago (edited)

PaperArtist_2021-07-23_23-47-26.jpg image source discussed below, edited by me.

Luna

I see you
Pulling away
Slowly
Withdrawing from me
From our bond
From the forces
Which brought us together
So long ago
As we go around
In circles
Putting space between us

I reach out
Longing to hold you
Slowing your withdrawal
Keeping you
In my reach
As I cherish our past
And Dread the inevitable
At the expense of our present

I know
You won't turn away
Our past prevents it
So we are left
With no choice
But to hold
Each other's gaze
As we fade
Ever so slowly
Into oblivion

Special thanks and acknowledgment of @dbooster for the suggestion mentioned in the comments below.

divider.png

The above is my first poem in a while. I solicited inspiration on a d buzz post the other day. I asked for non-meme images. @ahmadmangazap provided two GIFs for inspiration. Click here to see the originals. One was a boy gazing up at the stars and another of the moon. It made me think about the relationship between the moon and the Earth. I looked up this article which said the moon is slightly moving away from the Earth and I came up with the poem. I obviously personified a lot of this. Did you think it was of something else? What did you think of the poem? How did it make you feel?

Screenshot_20200414210812_Chrome.jpg

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

Sort:  

Excellent! One suggestion, though: wouldn't "space" work better than "millimeters"? Millimeters is such a harsh scientific term (I mean yeah we all use it, but it has that harsh exact sound, cold and to the point. Just the facts, ma'am). Also "space" would keep the mystery going longer - are we talking about a relationship or something else? using millimeters kind of gives it away.

That is a really great suggestion. I wish I would have thought of it. I don't usually incorporate suggestions into my finished poetry as I want it to be 100% me. However, in this case, I feel I have no choice. I will give you credit if it ever gets published (which is highly unlikely).

Nice poem, of course I can think of a love relationship that's becoming to an end...

I would use "gravity" instead of atmosphere at

Keeping you
In my atmosphere

Cheers

I agree that gravity will make it better... It's a less scientific, does the same thing narratively and is more metaphorical. @moeknows @drakernoise

Posted via Blog | D.Buzz

Liked the poem. I thought it was about love or something but thinking of it as Moon and Earth makes it more impactful.

I'm happy that I inspired this. Have a !PIZZA

Posted via Blog | D.Buzz

Connect

Trade


@moeknows! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @ahmadmangazap.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Oh, that's a cool incentive. I haven't used posh in a bit. (My old Twitter account got banned)