Rainy Ribbons

in Blockchain Poets3 years ago (edited)


PaperArtist_2021-10-06_15-45-27.jpg
Image taken and edited by me

Rainy Ribbons 🎀

It caught my eye
As my gaze flew past
The sky full of grays
And overcast
Preparations
For a funeral mass
Mourning a life
Too soon passed

The sky opened up
The drops fell fast
And weighed down my soul
As they drizzled past
Hiding the tears
I never cast
Mourning a life
Too soon passed

In so many ways
The haze seemed to cast
A shadow on me
Of days long passed
On the sight of the ribbon
Drops fell at last
Mourning the lives
Too soon passed

divider.png

I wrote this after I saw some pink ribbons tied to trees in a local church graveyard. We had a tragic death in our town when a child passed away recently. I find the death of children to be exceptionally saddening. It started raining, and the rain began to soak the ribbons. It seemed as if the Earth itself was mourning this child. I have experienced a fair amount of death in my life. Seeing those ribbons had an unexpected effect on me in that it brought back all of those experiences and memories to the forefront of my thoughts. I penned this as an expression of that.

Please let me know your thoughts on this piece. Have you ever been similarly affected by the sight of something?

Screenshot_20200414210812_Chrome.jpg

Join the Blockchain Poets community. Where we read and comment each other's on poetry.

Sort:  

Hey @moeknows,

Just thought of you and here to wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Blessings, friend.

😄😇😉

@creatr

Thanks Duncan. A merry Christmas to you as well.

Hoping you noticed my earlier comment on your poem here? :D

Very beautiful and profound, it is impossible not to be moved.

We have chosen to support your post because you are one of the good promoters of Hive on Twitter based on our Hive Twitter Daily Report.

We appreciate your time and enthusiasm for promoting Hive!

Keep up the good job! 😍😍😍

This is done with the support of #theycallmedan and the #threespeak team.

Awesome. Thank you!

Twice I've witnessed the earth mourn two people I love most in my life. All that comes with death and graveyards are worth paying attention to. You either find your answers in them or derive comfort. It's always sad though.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Death is something that we do not discuss enough of, it brings with it so much pain, but that pain, is but an expression of our love.
The passing of a children is perhaps the hardest.
Beautiful poem @moeknows xx

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

This was beautiful and deeply touching. Thank you for sharing both the poem and the inspiration, granting your readers deeper insight.

Hi, Moe...

Just seeing this today; I was prompted to drop by when I noticed your vote for my latest haiku.

It's an overcast, lightly rainy day here, and so I have the perfect backdrop for reading your poem. I like the simple structure and repetitive rhyme on every other line. No doubt, death is a bitch. It's our enemy, and it looms large in our thinking.

Sadly, it has been the deaths of close friends and of my father in the course of the last year or two that seem to have driven me to composing poetry. And reading of the deaths resulting from the insane and criminal pressure to inject experimental concoctions into children has me off-the-scale furious at the powers that shouldn't be, the media, and all the mindless and clueless sheeple going with the program...

My great hope and refuge in all this is the sure knowledge of the resurrection and the promise that death will ultimately go down:

"But in fact Christ has been raised from the dead, the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep. For as by a man came death, by a man has come also the resurrection of the dead. For as in Adam all die, so also in Christ shall all be made alive. But each in his own order: Christ the firstfruits, then at his coming those who belong to Christ. Then comes the end, when he delivers the kingdom to God the Father after destroying every rule and every authority and power. For he must reign until he has put all his enemies under his feet. The last enemy to be destroyed is death." - 1 Corinthians 15:20-26

I pray all is well with you and yours; I'd love to hear from you!

😄😇😉

@creatr