Surviving Marriage

in Blockchain Poets2 months ago (edited)

house-number-193789_1280.jpg

Today I have been married,
exactly forty-four years.
There's been lots of happiness.
There's been lots of tears.
--
Things are not always easy,
when you've been married so long.
You must learn to compromise.
Sometimes you have to be strong.
--
Remember the vows you made.
You treat your man like a king.
He will treat you like a queen.
These are things happiness brings.
--
Always respect each other.
If your love is to survive,
you must always stand by them,
as long as you are alive.
--
Your life will go by quickly.
You must stop and face your fears.
I hope I will be married.
Another forty-four years.


Photo: PIxabay - Artist: annaer


THE Texan in the Philippines.jpg

Howdy y’all. It’s me, ninong7 aka UJ aka John. Just a short intro about myself. I am a Texan that has retired in the Philippines. I moved to the Philippines with my wife back in May 2010. I am retired from the US Air Force. The music I like is mostly Classic Country and Classic Rock. I guess you could say that I am “Classic”. I play dominoes when I can find someone that will play, I play chess, cribbage, spades, hearts, Empire Builder, Rail Baron, Acquire and a few other games. I like to write poems and stories (although pretty novice) and I love learning about history, just about any history. I’m at home on my computer a lot but if I could afford to, I’d be traveling and documenting my travels to post in my blog. I hope to get to know a lot of you through PeakD and Discord.


Sort:  

Congratulations @ninong7! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

44 years is a very long time, but I wish your marriage can last much longer, I have always thought that if you are getting married you have to know how to commit to that person until death do you part, I have always admired people who get married, thank you for sharing this writing ♥

It is a long time. Sometimes it seems much longer but other times the time seems to fly right by. I'm still trying to catch my parents. They have been married 67.5 years.

 2 months ago  

You've received an upvote from the Blockchain Poets account. Thank you for submitting your poem to our community!