Tick Tock

in Blockchain Poets10 months ago (edited)

IMG_20190819_195402820.jpg

The hours ticked hotly by. First one, then two, then three. Suddenly, it was well past dawn, too late for Tai Chi, but too early for lunch. Morning chores done, I settled in to grasp those poems that had been hovering in the air around my bed, plucking at the edges of my skin, before they dissolved into thickening air.

tossing and turning
dry mouth, barking dog
morning comes!

a sleepless night
my body’s edges obscured
where do I begin?

last night, sleepless night
a woodpecker hammered holes
in my pillow

glassy eyes
the gloom of morning light
another hot day

text16.png

@dbooster and @boxcarblue have both published haibun recently, which are, as I understand them, haiku preceded by short stories. I thought I'd get in on the fun. One of these haiku has been previously published, although I altered it very slightly for this post. I wonder if anyone remembers it.

image is by me

Sort:  

haibun

huh?!

Thank you. Looking into this... @boxcarblue touches my soul. Every. Single. Time.

Really enjoyed reading you today, @owasco :) Keep 'em comin'!

The woodpecker! I remember it well!

You've made me very happy!

In my defence, such an image is difficult to forget.

Oh dear, I guessed wrong. I was certain this is the haiku I had seen before:

a sleepless night
my body’s edges obscured
where do I begin?

Woodpecker...
Dogs at dawn waking us...
It's all very very relatable.
Kinda wish this were not so, LOL... but you nail it ever time, this human experience, all its nuances.

Amazing haikus, that describe the discomfort of sleepless nights, and the crazy feelings of fatigue.

Great lines
Thanks for sharing.

Thank you!

My last night is the same as you have mentioned in these beautiful lines. And I am thinking today's night is going to be same

I wish you a deep and restful sleep. Me too!

I used to sleep all night but now, the older I get, the less I sleep at night.

oh, so this won't get any better, like a lot of other things I just have to get used to? I don't want to take any sleep aids, so I really need to figure this out.

My husband swears that when he eats the edible gummies, he gets a full night's sleep. He cuts them into 4 pieces and eats one of them. I can not eat them because I take pain meds and the doctors tests for other drugs and it will make me fail the drug test.

Wonderful!

I really like the image of poems hovering in the air around your bed. It makes me want to take that concept and play with it.

I also really loved the second one where you talk about the edges of your body being obscured and end with that fabulous question. I was trying to capture a similar idea/sensation last week, but couldn’t quite figure out how to do it.

And the pillow with holes in it. Great image!

I found the story more difficult to write than the poems!

Yeah, that feeling. As if I had partly dissolved. I couldn't quite tell where I ended and the sheets began, and I was floating. It wasn't scary - I had become more a part of the world. I'm glad you like that one. It's the first one I wrote this morning, apart from the one I already published.

I totally get it. I struggled with the story part of my new post today too. 😬

Very good imagery! I've never heard of haibun before. Those sleepless nights are the worst. I had a night like that before I flew to Montreal the last time. It made for a very long travel day!

Thank you so much for your support of my work! I really appreciate it.

You're welcome!

Beautiful verses dedicated to the night with its surreal, magical and mysterious tint.

Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Reading through your lines. One thing with a poet is that we have too much poets we can't keep in our brains and we have much to give by writing.