Entering 20s

in Blockchain Poets7 months ago (edited)

As I turn 20 today on 20th October 2023, here's the poem. It's freshly written.

"Mom, how are kids born?"
"God grants you when you pray."
Most famous answer to a four-year-old.

Watching a period drama at 7,
I wondered, "Were there cameras in those times."
"What are sanitary pads, why do adults pee in them?"
"Who cuts the moon every day and then assembles the broken pieces?"

In my early teens, I kept track of birthday wishes.
Got upset when expectations weren't met.
Wished to be loved by everyone.

Now I don't keep give-and-take relationships.
Least bothered by trivial things,
Those innocent expectations I don't have.
Birthdays feel like just other days.
I want to live life to the fullest,
reach the zenith of my potential,
make great friends,
and enjoy a glass of wine.

My earliest memory is cutting cake with my grandma on my 3rd birthday. What's yours?

girl-2013447_1280.jpg
source

Sort:  

Each birthday brings with it more experience and wisdom in understanding this world we inhabit. Every year it is the allergy or sadness of enjoying the loved ones who are here and those who left.

Beautiful verses.
Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Hey thanks for always reading.

Thank you for your past support!

Unfortunately we have recognized that you have removed your delegation from our initiative. We want to thank you for the long support and would be happy to welcome you again some day :)

Stay creative & HIVE ON!