You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Space Between Worlds - A Month of Daily Poems Day 3 (Video Poetry Reading)

in Blockchain Poets2 years ago

Thanks @bozz

I really appreciate the feedback, and I'm glad you enjoyed the poem. It is one of my favorites as well, and I thoroughly enjoyed doing the research to fill the gaps in my knowledge of Norse mythology.

Somehow, with a long period of taking jobs as varied as carpark attendant, barman, and volunteer manager running an environmental project... I've finally managed to make my living from what I studied at University 'creative writing'

Lol, let's just say it's not the best degree course for a career-minded person, unless you're talented, lucky, and know the right people it's pretty much 100% impossible to end up with a book deal straight outta uni with a course like that 😂

A small part of my income comes from what I write on hive, but it is great to know that people all over the world are reading my work. That's the great thing about hive, and I appreciate the support from finding my post on Listnerds 🙂

Sort:  

Yeah, I hear you! I was heading down the path of being an English Teacher but I decided I would probably burn out way to quickly, so I ended up going into technology. Turns out I am working in a school district, so I kind of followed the original path anyway! I am glad you are able to at least get your work out there and make a little something from it!

Yeah, I make much more than half of my income writing outside of hive tbh. Hive is not a big earner for me, I only stay writing here out of a wish and hope that it will continue to be a place that embraces high quality content creators of all kinds.

The truth with hive is that stake is king, and if Steven King turned up tomorrow writing short stories in a different genre under a pseudonym without powering up a decent chunk of HP, he'd be mainly ignored apart from by the main curation guilds.

I guess with hive it is a case twofold; time put in (like people recognize you if you've been around for ages, and especially if you've done any community building) and how much stake you have.

What I do love about Listnerds is that it is helping people get eyes on work that has passed the 7-day window. I've always had a problem with the mechanism (not from a tokenomics perspective as I know that if posts were evergreen a massive amount of reward pool abuse would happen) that content is essentially dead in regards to new people reading it after 7 days for the most part. Listnerds is helping change that which I personally think is cool considering the level of effort and time I put into my writing on here.

I follow exactly the same level of writing practice as I do outside of hive. Much of my short fiction I've put on hive has taken 3-4 hours to write the first draft, then easily the same amount of time or more in the editing and proofreading process.

Ah, very interesting to hear your process. I guess that makes sense. I have been here for around four years and I still don't feel like I have much name recognition. I am not a developer either, so I guess that makes sense... It has been nice to post some of my older stuff using Listnerds and get some kind of recognition and engagement from that.