You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: High High is the Snow? ~ Haiku of Japan

indeed, @dbooster. even now when i am reading haiku, it takes time for me to really get it, it takes time to unfold every meaning and possible meaning behind it. so maybe that's why as well that i became fond of reading haikus since i love the feeling of my mind running and deciphering texts and concepts.

Sort:  

That's the way to do it. That is exactly one of the reasons why I love them. I think there is the initial reading and impression we get based on that, then there is the more detailed reading, looking at the background, the diary entry that went with the haiku (if there was one), any references to older Chinese poetry (very common in older haiku), and so on. I try to provide at least some of this info in my posts.