You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bluebird

Thanks. I really loved writing about the birds in meadow. When we moved here it was a vast (invasive) grassland. We put up bird houses and started planting trees. In the ten years, we've watched the types of birds change. The tree swallows and bluebirds are more rare, but we've heard wood cocks, brown thrashers, cardinals, and the red wing blackbirds.

Of all the birds, the red wings are most territorial; they chatter over their domain (or parish as I think of it). And the connection between cardinal the bird and cardinal (the religious rank) connects with the mass and binds lightly with the cant (phraseology) of the red wings; but perhaps their's is a cant of the underworld.

Sort:  

Your reply is as intriguing as your poem - the cardinals (double entendre) and canting red-wings.
Those birds are so bad-^ss, they swoop down and kick my husband in the head (or bike helmet) when he bicycles past. They're LOUD, too, like honking cars, warning of an approaching bicyclist.

A vast and invasive grassland - now that is a challenge! Planting trees may be the easiest way to conquer the non-native invasive species. I tried that in our wetlands. 20 years later the reed canary is still a vast monoculture, and the trees (only a few ever grew) were toppled by a derecho.

Great name: Brown Thrashers - do birds have "gangs" the way people do? Blue jays = Bullies....

To my knowledge crows operate in gangs. I've seen barn swallows and tree swallows comingle with dragonflies as they all darted throughout the air above the field. They were all eating small pests.

So many things happening all around us, and we so oblivious to most of it!
So much to see
if only we looked
with open eyes...

@owasco can turn anything into a haiku, but I need more syllables (lazy? me? yes).

no no no!
English haiku uses fewer syllables.

3 to 4
4 to 6
3 to 4

That one is perfecto!

De ja vous - last year you helped me sort out a haiku about opening our eyes to see the beauty of a "drab" gray, wet day. I should be able to find this.... should.... thank you for all your inspiration and coaching, Haike Master Owasco!

I have a recording of about 50 seconds of the brown thrasher; it was the bird that woke me up and I thought "Wow there must be several birds outside my window." Nope, it has several different songs.