Sepia Pictures

in Blockchain Poets2 years ago (edited)

camera_514992_960_720.jpg
Image source

There’s a picture on my dressing table,
Its edges are coming apart with age.
It's a picture where the colors are fading,
A picture where you are sitting
on a motorbike staring at me.

I try to imprint the picture
On the canvas of my mind,
To trace the defiance in your eyes,
Short locks like black fists pointed to the skies.
I try to remember everything about you,
In case I should meet you again.

......

There’s a picture in my drawer
That has slowly turned sepia.
It’s the only picture I have of you.
We have none together.
I can only paint pictures from the memories I have of you,
And I don’t have many.

But I do remember the time we met
When you finally came to visit me.
We stared at each other curiously,
But I did not know you.
And, heartbreakingly,
You did not know me.

And now decades have passed since
you have crossed over.
Yet, as I grow older,
From time to time I look at your picture,
stroke the edges,
flatten them, and wonder,
Will we recognize each other
When our paths cross again,
Or will I look into the eyes of my father and feel
Nothing?


Happy Easter everyone,

In my faith, today is a very important day, and so, as we go about our respective lives, I wish you all a day of peace, love, and abundant understanding.

I'm new to this community and I am looking forward to sharing my work with you, as I am equally excited to read and support yours. I am also relatively new to Hive so I am not sure what the rules of engagement are.

This is an earlier poem I wrote some time ago when I was feeling nostalgic. I attempted to self-publish it in a chapbook but then got cold feet and withdrew it at the last minute. I trust that this will be okay to share here, and I'd truly appreciate your feedback.

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Welcome to the community, very nice poem, it happens to me with a photograph I have as a child that is also getting a little old but well anyway, now there are cell phones and technology, thanks for sharing.

Thank you @joseitosanchezs. It's true, because of technology, we rarely ever take pictures in the old form anymore. The old ones are still quite nostalgic though.

😍Wow! My favourite lines:

Short locks like black fists pointed to the skies.

That has slowly turned sepia.

The diction in the poem is superb. Every word seems carefully selected. It’s a beautiful poem.

… I am looking forward to sharing my work with you.

I look forward to reading. You’re welcome.

Thank you so much for the kind words @philomenob! Have a great day!

😊You’re welcome.

Welcome Hive. Thank you for sharing your poem. I really like it. You write about strong feelings, old regards in a beautiful language.

Hi @beaescribe, thank you for the welcome and compliment! I am pleased you liked it.

This was a heartfelt poem. It's beautifully written, as have many of yours that I have read so far. I look forward to reading them. I hope you find a lot of success in Hive with your posts.

Thank you so much, I truly appreciate the feedback and the support! 😊Have a great day!