A Californian Chateauneuf du Pape

in Cheers2 years ago

image.png

Lately I have really been getting into wines from Chateauneuf du Pape. This region in France is known for there Grenache dominate blends. There are actually 18 permitted grapes that can make up a CDP, but usually it is a big portion of Grenache, then smaller quantities of Syrah, and Mourvèdre. Such a great wine, but also expensive! So it is a special treat for me to have one. I have had many CDP style wines from outside of Chateauneuf du Pape, and also some from California, but none really matched the same level as the original. That is until I had the GSM from my home state.....

I tend to stay away from the generic California label, since usually when it just says California, the grapes are sourced from anywhere in the state, and a mass produced garbage. However there are great wines under this classification, and this is one of them! The Grenache was sourced from Sierra foothills, Carignan from Oakley(Napa Valley), Mourvèdre from the southern Sonoma Valley near Glen Ellen, and then the last but not least Syrah from my backyard, Santa Lucia Highlands. At half the price for an entry level CDP, this wine has changed my mind on Rhone Style blends from California, or elsewhere for that matter. But then again this wine has grape from some of the top regions here in the state. While other California classification wines line the shelves of Wal-Mart, and represent grape juice with alcohol, this wine wares the California Classification as a badge of honor, showcasing art made from wine grapes. Now I only need to find some more, the online wine shop has sold out. I may just have to spend the extra $$ on a CDP to get my fix ;) CHEERS!

Sort:  

owww. GSM from the states. Coool Good flavours?

Very good! So balanced too. I would describe it has spicy, and black fruits.