Home page of PeakD ... your thoughts?

in About PeakD3 years ago (edited)

We have been working on a new design for the home page of PeakD.com
I think we are going in a really good direction.

However I basically just wanted to see what other people would imagine for the home page.
Maybe we are forgetting something or something you say will spark an idea.

WHAT THE HOMEPAGE SHOULD DO?

  • I want to be able to send friends to the site and for PeakD to explain itself.
  • Why PeakD exists
  • Why it and hive are unique to other platforms
  • And then i want viewers to understand what content is in the website as they look at the homepage
  • Basically what they should expect

Not everyone will care about the unique problems PeakD/Hive solves so i want the page to speak to those who don't want to spend much time on the page but quickly understand that it's a content platform and they can write stuff.

I do want to speak to those who care deeply about what we are doing and perhaps need a bit more convincing about how we are uniquely solving the issues. They're gonna be the people that go to other users and say "I've looked into it and PeakD/Hive is legit and they're solving things the right way" they're the ones that speak up and they're perhaps the ones their friends over on reddit or somewhere else listen to.


So... what would help you as a PeakD/Hive user?

I'm guessing you don't want to or can't have a unique conversation with each friend trying to explain not just what PeakD does but why it's important it exists. So what would you want for us to tell YOUR FRIENDS?

Any websites that you think we should look at with a really nice layout? Drop a link.

Sort:  

I guess the few most important things to emphasize might be:

  • A decentralized social media platform
  • You own your account and your community
  • Censorship resistance
  • Platform revenue gets paid out to the users

They could be headings with a sentence of explanation under each one, elaborating that it's not owned by any corporation but by a worldwide community, that we have decentralized governance, etc.

Then, what are the calls to action? Perhaps a few:

  • Register (leads to registration page - could be the largest-size option with the next ones smaller underneath it)
  • Explore content (leads to curated or trending posts)
  • Explore communities (leads to the communities page)
  • Learn more (leads to more in-depth explanation: FAQs, Hive whitepaper, etc.)

There's my thoughts.

Thanks it will be great to have a place to direct people to so they can learn more about Hive and how it all works.

I would prefer a more simplified homepage, with a larger splash screen / peakd logo and only one sentence, what peekd / hive is and a signup / login button, or alternatively remove the homepage and go directly into the content like voice.com does.

Thought on this platform.

I want to say first when I came into Hive in November, completely new. I found many things about the initial onboard process challenging. My feeling is the biggest problem this service has is technical friction. Its just confusing, like a game with no tutorial level. It is over all very different from the user experience we have all been ingrained to expect over the last decade.... and lets be honest, when was the last time normal people signed up for social media? For me, it had been 8-9 years prior to this year. The learning curve is significant.

PEAKD so far has been my favorite of the bunch.. I found it the most intuitive, like forums I used to use. I would recommend putting the communities list front and center to make it easy to under stand - I want to see top posts right away to be sucked in by the content. I came here for social media, privacy, escape from abuse by algorithms and profit driven social models that drive toxicity. I want to get to that kind of content right away - no intermediate pages. I'd place most of the rest of the stuff out of the way and get straight to the goods.

Some kind of tutorial for signing up on hive would also be amazing. Details on how to do your first posts, signing in, saving your keys etc would be good too. I had never, ever had a keys before, and when I used all my hive to make blog posts people couldn't and then ran out of ability to keep going I got quite irritated. Also nearly lost the keys because I didn't realize they were valuable! I'm so used to always being able to re-access something easily.

Having a post be a finite resource is a really shocking change of pace also- made me very frustrated. My first time I posted blog posts, ran out of hive, and couldn't post for a while. It really took the wind out of my sails!

I would recommend focusing on the strong community aspect of the platform compared to other websites where you can write stuff. This is what differentiates you for new users like myself.