Sort:  

Removal of tipping fees to be exact haha

LOL, yes.

Now, if you started paying people to tip, that would be real innovation!

😁

 3 years ago (edited) 

When business savvy content creators come in from other places I believe they will recognize the benefits of Tipping and they will know how to get their users to tip.

Perhaps peakd should help create some tools to help those creators translate tips into perks for those tipping them.

It's an interesting problem to overcome. Perhaps allowing an author to set recommended tips for their posts and provide automatic links the way some do with delegations?

ETA: For example, as a user who doesn't get a super amount of upvotes, I would find it useful to communicate to my users that microtips are completely acceptable. So I might have suggested tips as low as .05 Hive. No fees makes such a thing more feasible (so thanks). Whereas, I myself would be reluctant to send a tip that small for fear of it being seen as an insult.

So you're maybe saying that if you could save a generic tip amount in your account metadata that we could read it and the amount when a user selects TIP would default to the amount you suggested?

I guess we should also add a slider that goes from like 50% below that suggested amount to 10x that amount.
But obviously an exact amount should always be available.

Perhaps you could also write a message to the tippers and we can add that message to the tip dialogue? Maybe that makes people look at tips a little more and write those messages and then tip just to see the message?

I personally want to see tipping more exciting and important on hive/peakd than the limited reward pool system.
Tips are unlimited and not dependent on what others do its a 1 to 1 decision.

Yeah, I agree. My thought was more along the lines of a default snippet added to the bottom of each post. Something like,

If you enjoyed this post and would like to reward it beyond an upvote or in place of an upvote please consider one of the tip amounts below:

Tip 1| Tip 2| Tip 5

Oh, you mean something like auto-tipping? That would be super cool. Like if I could set up auto tipping through peakd, that would be super useful. I would have to be able to exclude or limit certain accounts though.

That sounds really promising

Perhaps peakd should help create some tools to help those creators translate tips into perks for those tipping them.

So much this! Almost nothing needs to be done on the back end to make Hive a fully capable replacement of Patreon or KickStarter. Creators just need robust reporting, and front end visualizations like fan badges etc. I’d love to see reporting able to integrate both direct transfers (tips) and voting activity.

I also think tips will take off when new non crypto savvy users have an easier option to load their tipping wallet. Has PeakD ever considered integrating a payment provider like Simplex or Moonpay? I’d love to see more on ramps for fiat into Hive.

I am not familiar with a good payment solution for crypto let alone for Hive/hbd

Coinbase is said to be easy but it doesn't have hive. Binance has credit card support but is not usable for US residents and many credit cards don't allow crypto transactions and will reject binance (like my own credit card)

Maybe PayPal has something.

And I am just not familiar with the two you have referenced so if you think they will be simple to use send links or tell them to get a hold of us

https://www.simplex.com/

https://www.moonpay.com/

I only became aware of some of these recently from a bare minimum of playing around with WAX. Since they’re targeting some average consumers & collectors I see some good efforts that don’t rely on telling people to set up a robust & complex exchange account. I’d love to see Hive get listed as a supported currency and have a tab in the PeakD wallet looking like this!

1548908A-AF5D-40EF-A3C6-B9FA39592A7D.jpeg

Looks like these services support the vast majority of US states, possibly have a minimal KYC at purchase.

I need to actually make a purchase so I can review the whole process firsthand, and then perhaps just start tweeting #hive at them! But I’m sure it would take a community insider to help set up the listing and of course front ends willing to use it! PeakD always seems the most forward thinking and approachable to throw ideas at... so thanks!

What was the rational? I was actually happy to burn some hive when tipping people!

Tip fees were primarily meant to make sure someone didn't send themselves a large tip from one account to the next.

However we have a more important goal of having people think of PeakD and Hive as a place where they interact directly with their connections. The reward pool has tons of dependencies on the rest of the hive community... we need something that is one to one... direct action between one user and another

What's the problem with large tips? Do they promote the post?

Because otherwise it's the same as a transfer.