You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preferred Topics and (Bee)Chat for Communities, Chat channel subscriptions and more

in About PeakD3 years ago (edited)

Removing reblogs is a nice feature. I avoided reblogging for years because it made my own page seem confusing. That 'all posts' section should be the landing page.

That being said, I've always wanted to see reblogs go under their own separate section. Right now on PeakD we have 'Blog', 'All Posts', 'Replies', Other. I would add something like 'Collection' or 'Favorites', and any post I reblog would sit there and only there, in a list.

There used to be a site called StumbleUpon. You'd create an account and add random content found all over the web to your personal stumbleupon page. What I'm suggesting is a similar concept.

Also, would it be possible or is it possible for my own page to have a chat channel? I'd want a feature that forces me to approve accounts before they can chat though.

Sort:  

Chat channel for a person isn't presently an option. Group chats may get you there... not sure. But we are limited by BeeChat development and they haven't developed anythign on that product in many many months so we're actually just crossing fingers that things advance on that front.

We'll be changing up some of the menus coming up I suppose and looking at where we put some of that on desktop and mobile view.

The blog is a place where the user gets to carefully curate what they want to be seen by a visitor so to me it makes sense that it is the first page. For example i want people visiting to see the best of my photography and a few Hive/peakd things. I have a ton of other random posts in other communities I actually don't even want shown on all-posts because they're really only meant for the community and not my followers but I understand they need to be there.

Who's behind BeeChat? Is that @aggroed and company? Regardless, it's good to see folks working together rather than going separate ways, which only leads to a menu with too many options, meaning some ingredients in the back go rotten before they get used. Waste of money and resources.

And I do agree with your reasoning behind how things are when it comes to mixing content in that section, as we have it now. Originally we didn't have the 'All Posts' option. That solution satisfied my desire to have a list containing only my work, and that organized option is important, especially when it comes to consumers who want to binge on content.

Anyway, you folks keep up the good work and if my suggestions ever get annoying just tell me to STFU. LOL!

Yeah it's an @aggroed project ran by @reazuliqbal ... and we've been pretty happy with their product. Has been nice to use. Would love to see more interfaces using it because it seems to be mostly just nftshowroom that uses it the most and us. And our subscribing to a channel is feature peakd did so it's not decentralized among interfaces.

I'm guessing there are still a few more things we can do with beechat even as it is now. However it's gonna be a good test to see how much it gets used now that communities can turn it on.

There was a demand for open chat, private chat, and direct messaging; since day one. But what happened was many moved over to Discord. Once that gained popularity and was endorsed more and more, we noticed engagement on chain steadily decline. Some blame the lack of votes being placed on comments but that's only a small part of the picture. Can't vote for a comment if there isn't one to vote for.

At some point the trend needs to be reversed so more traffic remains, consistently enjoying the various features of Hive.

I used to love Stumble upon!!!!!!

I had a decent following there on two accounts. I'd upload my posts from the early days of Steemit and have hundreds of views trickling into my blog daily.