You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PeakD Review: Changing our All-Important Keys to the Hive Blockchain!

in About PeakD4 years ago (edited)

This is a great resource for folks that need to do this, and I am grateful you have undertaken it.

I am curious why you did not use the option to simply change the password available in Hive Keychain. Is there a reason you chose to delete the account rather than change the password?

Thanks!

Sort:  

Glad to hear you found some value in this post @valued-customer. Thanks for letting me know!

On this ...

"... why you did not use the option to simply change the password available in Hive Keychain."

... while I have never had any personal reason to use this feature, I believe you would find that it simply changes the password which "locks" access to Hive Keychain itself. An additional layer of security ...

The "account" in place holds your old set of private keys. If you follow the step-by-step details of this post, you'll have a new set. Requiring you to delete the old "account" and add a new one, for the storage of the new keys.

At first, one might think an "Edit" option would be better. But ... You have an entirely new set of keys, which includes the Public Keys, as well as the Private. So ... You are facing a complete "rebuild" of the "account" anyway and this is the fastest route to that objective.

FYI, I actually did try to use the change password option, and it failed, leaving me quite consternated for a bit until I followed the above instructions and used the delete account option.

Thanks!

Very good @valued-customer. Thank you for letting me know!

Hopefully, you will have also created a Hive Keychain password, for the added security that offers us all. I would imagine the likelihood of someone getting a hold of your computer and finding their way "through the maze" to opening an unprotected copy of Hive Keychain and making off (assuming you have stored your Active Private Key in it) with all of your hard-earned tokens is (very) remote.

Still, the "no extra charge" peace of mind is a worthwhile investment of time for most of us.

Have a good day! 👋


P.S. Tech tip: Some might consider this a little on the "paranoid" side, but I have these added security steps, as part of my daily routine:

  1. I use the Brave browser, instead of Google Chrome. Brave supports independent use of Chrome extensions, like Hive Keychain.
  2. I open the Brave browser via the "Run as Administrator" option available from my profile (I use a Windows-based laptop ...). Which requires the Admin password to launch it. If simply opening Brave from my profile, an intruder would simply find a "fresh" copy of Brave, which was empty ...
  3. I have installed Hive Keychain and other security-sensitive apps on this Admin-only copy of Brave ...

The "P" word I would use? Prudent ... 😉