You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working in a Hospital’s Lab Spares me from the Daily Woes

in STEMGeeks3 years ago

I'd get glares if I brought out the notion that I won't be taking the diplomate exam to be an official instead I would opt for being a pathologist assistant too. I don't know how exactly the job title's responsibility differs there but being an assistant here meant cutting up the specimens and making some initial diagnosis for review, it's like I'm still a resident but past graduation status.

Someone's license is on the line and I'm just happy to piggyback on the professional fees my senior pathologist would be getting. My seniors know the position is lucrative with less risks on the license but don't want to encourage it because that would also make other trainees consider it and then there would be a shortage of diplomates to take over the senior's responsibilities, the same responsibilities we all try to get away from in the first place.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

You aren’t too far off there. An assistant here has a master’s degree, is licensed, and works under a pathologist.

It’s basically a step up from techs.

Sounds more useful than having a degree in Nursing then entering this field. Life is much easier if I had chosen the Medical technologist route if I knew I'd ended up on this field :P

Are you working on getting that license?

 3 years ago  

It’s about the only thing where having a nursing degree isn’t useful.

And nah, I’m not getting it since the closest program to me is in Cali or Canada. If Utah ever offers it, I’m in.