You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spring Cleaning the PC - Installing Windows 11 and More

in STEMGeeks2 years ago

I have yes, I fix computers for a living. Apparently you can buy a TPM for some boards that use a PCI slot on the board however it appears these are like hen's teeth as production was cut due to no demand then MS brought out the upgrade requirement and any that were in existence were snapped up over night by the public and I suspect computer repairers.

Sort:  

Such a boring use of pci. I have mini atx so pci slots are at a premium.

Actually the module fits into a TPM connector on the board (if it has one) - see maketecheasier.com/install-trusted-platform-module/

tpm.jpg

You definitely know your stuff. I know who I'm tavging the next time I build a PC.
I just checked and my board has that. Windows 11 works fine though. Do you think it's worth buying?

You shouldn't need it. If you managed to install Win 11 then you already have the chip built into the board. I'm guessing the fact you have that connector is so you could upgrade the fixed TPM chip to say a TPM 3.0 chip should they be released at a future date.