First Visit to the Natural History Museum

in STEMGeeks2 months ago

         This year was the first time I visited the Natural History Museum of Utah at the University of Utah. It was a lot to take in because of the amount of information. I'm glad I waited until my son was older before having him engage with the exhibits the museum had to offer.

         As you can see, there are five levels to this place. The topics covered ranged from geology, anthropology, and other fields of science regarding the State of Utah.

         Of course, his favorite parts were those of geology and paleontology. I suppose kids generally prefer tangible things they can see and interact with. I liked the part where we could shine the UV lights on certain minerals and see what they looked like underneath it. There were also low-powered microscopes that allowed visitors to examine things. I know both my child and I appreciated it. The only slide I had an issue with was the blood smear of human blood which I thought the quality was so bad, it should be replaced.

         On top of the exhibits, I noticed summer workshops for children throughout the museum. They ranged from environmental science to botany. I even saw a lab space for molecular sciences. There's something to think about for future summer vacations.

         Before we left, we visited the gift shop for a souvenir. Unlike other museums we've been to thus far, I felt the Natural History Museum had a better book collection. It took a few minutes, but I think I picked something both of us would enjoy.

         It will take some time before we read the entire book, but I like the progress.

         We spent almost three hours at the museum. I still felt we didn't get to examine everything more closely. Not to mention, I had limited knowledge of the native tribes of my state. We will revisit this place later this year or sometime next year.

Posted using STEMGeeks

Sort:  

These types of places are always fun to visit and explore around

 2 months ago  

Yes indeed.

Hello @enforcer48
This is my own !BEER
Have fun with it!:)

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

It is interesting how kids interact with museums. And also it depends of the age, I have on 7 year old girl and another one that is 3 year old. We went to a museum focused on dinosaurs and prehistoric fossils. The 3-year-old was amazed and had more patience than my 7 year old one.
I loved that phylogenic tree with all these skulls of dinosaurs! A pretty creative way to demonstrate probably the family Ceratopsidae ?

 2 months ago  

Yes, it was a phylogenic display of things that look like triceratops. They had others as well.

My 7yo is just at the point in life where he can read things fairly well, so he's intrigued about what the signs and displays are saying.

That is great he is old enough to enjoy it and they have interactive exhibits. The Indianapolis Childrens museum is like that as well.

I for one feel like I never get to see everything I would like to when I go to these places. Most people seem to just look at the displays and rush through. I like to read everything and take in the displays as much as possible.

 2 months ago  

Oh, I like to read things through too.

Yeah, I never understood people that didn't.

 2 months ago  

I don't know about other states, but it does cost money to be there. So it seems kinda silly to pay to be annoyed.

Yeah, most places it does. I don't get to places like that anymore as my boys are grown. But when we did I had more patience.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

Good for you! That looks like a nice museum! I've never been there myself, but it looks worth the visit. The book looks interesting, I wouldn't mind one of those. And it likes yours son got some Legos too, you can't go wrong with those!

 2 months ago  

Yeah, he's got some Legos. The particular kind is one of those "3 in 1" dinosaurs.

My son loved those kind of Legos, they're a lot of fun!

This museum will surely be a great place for me to visit
The pictures are so nice and I’m sure you could learn so many thing from there

I've always been fascinated by rocks. I still have a tumbler kicking around somewhere.

 2 months ago  

Shiny things are cool.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

The museum is a very unique place
It looks nice and there are so many things to learn there

Curious about HivePakistan? Join us on Discord!

Delegate your HP to the Hivepakistan account and earn 90% of curation rewards in liquid hive!

50 HP
100 HP
200 HP
500 HP (Supporter Badge)
1000 HP
Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting!


Curated by gwajnberg

Congratulations @enforcer48! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 150000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 160000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

This really looks like a good Museum and it will definitely be great someday for one to actually explore it quite around