You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apple just fired Intel, what does it mean for the future?

in STEMGeeks4 years ago

Back in 2006/7, the company I was working for was building/testing a bunch of computers that were using a processor that was designed by a start-up named PA Semi . We had around 10 fully functional computer designs that were significantly cooler and consumed considerably less power than the competing chips (Intel and Freescale). I'm talking in the order of 10X more efficient.

I came in to work one day and everyone was buzzing ... Apple had swoopped in, bought PA Semi, then negotiated deals with all of the companies that had invested in the chip (Research, Development and Procurement). Essentially, the chip had simply disappeared ... and the team at PA Semi were now working for Apple.

Shortly after, the first iPhone was revealed, then later still, the iPad came out ... We liked to believe that we had helped PA Semi debug the processor that became the Jesus phone, but we will never know.

When Apple went with the Intel chip, I was quite surprised. I believed it to be far too inefficient.

Moving to an ARM chip makes a lot of sense. I'm curious whether the team from PA Semi are behind this ARM chip or whether they have all retired with Lambo's by now.

Sort:  

Off topic but I really appreciate your quality comments.

Thanks @pfunk. I don't post that often, but I enjoy reading other's posts ... If they strike a chord with me, I try to comment.

If I recall, (it's been a while) you were one of the first folks who's comments/posts I read when I joined steemit back in 2016 thanks to an invite from @omotherhen.

That was a long time ago ... I was only joining to learn more about mining ETH and the differences type of blockchain tech (PoS, dPoS, PoW etc etc). Then I've sort of stuck around ever since.

Back then, you could almost make as much commenting as you did posting ...