Hunting Pegmatites, Then Smashing Them

in STEMGeeks2 years ago

I'm headed out to explore some pegmatites tomorrow. Unfortunately I lost my rock hammer out in the desert the other week. So I decided to upgrade!

IMG_2221.JPG

While this isn't an exact replacement for my smaller rock hammer, it will help me out a lot in my pegmatite hunt tomorrow.

Pegmatites are igneous rocks consisting of crystals about 1" and larger. The usual make up of Pegs are quartz, feldspar and mica. In Southern California they often hold the precious & semi-precious gemstones beryl, tourmaline, topaz, spodumene, garnet and spinel to name a few. Basically a granite with huge crystals.

A small rubellite tourmaline from a pegmatite.
IMG_0809.jpg

Since a pegmatite is like a granite it's hard, most rocks are though right. So that 4lb sledge with a chisel side is going to come in handy when I need to break some boulders up like these.

Peg1.jpg

(Black tourmaline "schorl" in quartz)
Peg2.jpg

(Pegmatite vein)
Peg3.jpg

And with some luck I will find my way into a pocket like this!

IMG_4765.jpg

Not likely though as you have to do serious underground mining to find something like that.

Anyway, the area I am going to be hunting is here:

Screen Shot 2021-11-27 at 7.26.49 PM.png

It's part of an old, large quarry complex that produced a lot of beautiful specimens. The host rock is limestone and granite with pegmatite dykes running throughout.

A dyke is an portion of rock that is different than it's host rock. Basically it "Dykes" the rock meaning it blocks one part of the rock from the other, dividing it. This is an example of a pegmatite dyke that has weathered.

Peg4.jpg

So wish me luck in finding a portion that has been weathered and will be easy to break apart with the new sledge hammer. I'm thinking of naming the sledge "Perses" after the Greek God of Destruction. We'll see how well it does tomorrow. Until next time....

Sort:  

Good luck! Hope you find some nice specimens.

Thanks. Did find some rare minerals. Have to sort, clean and inspect them now.

very cool

Thanks.

Congratulations @rt395! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 89000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 90000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

like marvel thor's hammer😊

Yes, and it did it's job of smashing things very well yesterday.