Disgustingly amazing slug πŸ˜‚

in STEMGeeks β€’ last year

Quick update from yesterday, I still feel quite bit shit but I think the worse it's over. Spent most of the day in bed, browsing YouTube and reddit, falling on and off sleep... Or chasing my 2 year old. Yeah, he doesn't care πŸ˜‚

I still have some comments from yesterday to respond, not pretending to be a diva fellas , just too tired. Will come back to them tomorrow!

Anyways, check this disgustingly amazing creature

lxc7v12cclwa1.jpg
source

Scientifically described as Aplysia vaccaria this species holds the record did world`s largest slug in existence. And surprise surprise, it's commonly known as the black sea slug. Other common names are black sea hare and California black sea hare.

Just look how gross and big they are πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Well this video answers my question whether they are toxic or not. At least to the touch, they seem safe to pet... So safe to bang I guess too !

Wikipedia agrees too

Aplysia vaccaria can be safely handled by humans

Now don't ask me about eating one. They probably taste like shit. But if you still care, the do seem to produce a toxin that is highly toxic to fish:

To discourage predation by fish, brown algae produce the toxin acetoxycrenulide. During digestion, A. vaccaria extracts this compound and allows it to accumulate in its tissue. Because acetoxycrenulide is highly toxic to fish, its presence in this slug is sufficient to discourage predation

In case you wonder where you can find one then the answer is thr northeast Pacific Ocean off California, United States and Baja California, Mexico, including the Gulf of California.

Here's a map from inaturalist

Screenshot_20230517-235717~2.png

So tldr. Cool real life level 1 monster πŸ˜‚

As always, Wikipedia is great resource is you want to learn more about this fun creature:

And here's a final video from one of my favorite YouTubers where he gets to play with one ❀️

Posted with STEMGeeks

Sort: Β 

So that's what killed Tasha Yar.

Β last yearΒ Β 

L O L

Knowing my luck I will be reincarnated as that thing. Jesus.

Β last yearΒ Β 

Everyone will be amazed at your sight fren. Not bad!

looks a lot like one of your kids :P

Β last yearΒ Β 

Truer words have never been spoken

lol :)))

they found your Butt Plug

Β last yearΒ Β 

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Where the hell do you find this stuff….

I guess no baby yet?

Β last yearΒ Β 

I made a couple in the toilet πŸ₯³

Dam….. what the hell did you eat??? That’s definitely not the wife’s cooking…

Β last yearΒ Β 

LOL

Wow... so many horror movies could be based on that thing! It's just so... alien looking.

=^..^=

Β last yearΒ Β 

Come on! It's cute in a weird way πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Jeezo, that thing is huge !

that's what she said

!LOLZ !

I'm looking for an arsonist interested in a romantic relationship.
I want someone who can set my world on fire!

Credit: reddit
@cmmemes, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @hoosie

(1/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

Β last yearΒ Β 

Wink wink

What's for dinner? Giant slug!

Β last yearΒ Β 

Yummy for the tummy!

Now... I've seen everything! :)
!CTP

Β last yearΒ Β 

Cute right?

err no thanks you can keep it!

Β last yearΒ Β 

I'd love to have one as pet πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

it would eat you while you sleep

Small sized Alien X from Ben 10..

So safe to bang I guess too !

As deadly as slug πŸ’€

Rest well man!

Β last yearΒ Β 

Thanks fren!

Ewww. If I get nightmares of giant slug monster, I'd blame youuu Trump.

Β last yearΒ Β 

It's harmless though πŸ˜‚

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 156 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
11

Waooo impresionante foto que 🐌 tan asquerosa.

"... And that, kids, is where lubricant comes from."

Β last yearΒ (edited)Β 

The amount of slime that'll come out of that oneπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Β last yearΒ Β Reveal Comment