You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cats of Maui

in Pinmapplelast year

This is a lovely cat post and your daughter seems to be a lovely, kind person.

When I read this I thought of articles I had read about the endangered bird populations on different Hawaiian islands. In some cases the birds are destroyed by rodents. In some cases they are destroyed by aggressive ants. And in other cases, Maui for one, they are endangered by cats.

I love cats. My family has been helping homeless cats for years by spaying, neutering, sheltering and feeding. So the discussion about Maui cats caught my attention. There is an ongoing debate on Maui (just read about it after reading your blog) between bird advocates who want to kill all the cats and humane society/cat advocates who want to foster a trap neuter release (TNR) program. I don't have to tell you which side I'm on :)

Hope you don't mind this rather long comment. I didn't know Maui had all those cats. They do seem to be very well fed😇

Sort:  

You know, now that you have mentioned it, I am coming to Maui almost every other year, for the last 13 years, and I have never seen this much cat population on this trail. It is something that alarmed me subconsciously I guess because I didn’t know about the native birds. Something does seem out of balance