One day at one of the oldest hotel in Thekkadi - The Ambadi Moments !

in Pinmapple10 months ago

Hey Hive Friends,
Namaste 🙏
On my last blog I went to Tamilnadu and by evening I came back from there. I reached i Kumily nearly 5 pm, I plan to stay somewhere in Kumily. We can find so many hotels and resorts in Kumily because it's one of the major tourism destination in south India.
One of friend Mr saji was working in one hotel as manager I called saji bro and ask are you there am in Kumily I want to stay back somewhere here. He invites me to his hotel and its name as Ambadi. He told me that just take an autoriskha from bus stand and just tell the hotel name, they will drop me to the hotel. I follow his guidance.

IMG-1026.jpg

It's just 5 mints from the bus stand and nearly 2 kilometres. While going to the hotel, the autoriksha driver asks me are going to Ambadi junction or going to Ambadi hotel? Am a little bit confused, I told I want to go to the Ambdi hotel. He told that the hotel is located in Ambadi junction itself, and he told the history behind this, the Ambadi is the oldest hotel in Thekkadi. The hotel name become the name of the junction. Then I realise that I am going to some special place with some history.

IMG-1025.jpg

When I reached, my friend is waiting for me at the entrance itself. We are very happy to meet again also he express that it's not fair that I called him in evening and I reached here by morning itself. Finally, I promise him that next time I will inform him earlier. We have a special coffee from there, it's amazing, they are added some spices to the organic coffee. Even now, I can fell the taste in my mouth. What a wonderful coffee, a special thanks to the man behind that.

IMG-1023.jpg

I asked my friend about the history of the hotel, He told that the Amabdi was the first heritage hotel in Thekkadi. Ambadi was designed by Laurie Baker, he was British-born, Indian architect Laurie Baker. The architect try to follow traditional Kerala style construction for the building. He tried to market this hotel in Europe, and he was success in that. All the tourist from Europe were happy with Ambadi. It near to periyar forest valley, very pleasant and cool atmosphere with a lot of fresh air. Also, the architect provides some walking space through the hotel, so we have a small pathway for walking.

IMG-1008.jpg

The design and construction of Ambadi follows the suitability and eco-friendly. Am surprised that they follow these construction parameters in 1982 itself. I am sure that you may surprise to hear that, yes it's the fact Ambadi was founded in 1982. The inner courtyard and indoor plants make the room cooled and well ventilated

IMG-1009.jpg

The hotel was named as Ambadi by one of the famous film director G Aravindan. Saji bro told so many stories about Ambadi. So many famous people were stayed there. After a long discussion with saji bro. I went to my room, while walking I look around the hotel then I find out answer for the cool atmosphere at there. They do not cut the large tress from there also, they use old mud bricks for the construction also does not plaster the walls. They use mud tile for roofing and flooring. For multi stored buildings they used wood for flooring roof and some rooms walls are panelled with wood itself.

IMG-1021.jpg

I take a wonderful bath, the water was very chilled, but it's very nice to me because today I am coming from very hot place.
After the bath I plan to sleep, but I get a call from saji bro, I open the door. He again surprised me, he went Home and collect dinner for me from home. It's a special tapioca prepration (tapioca cooked and mixed with coconut, green chilli and onion) and Kerala fish curry. We both had our dinner together. It's really amazing, I told saji bro that you are very lucky because your wife is making superb food.

IMG_7964.JPG

After dinner saji bro leave to home that time he told that tomorrow breakfast should be from his him and I need to visit his home too. I agreed and went to bed with so many wonderful memories. I am also excited for tomorrow's breakfast.

IMG_6863.JPG

Dear friends, I am waiting for your suggestions on comments.
Stay turned for more blogs from India!

With lots of love
Aji K Rajan

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

@pinmapple Thank you . I have a question " i cant see this post on pinmapple map ? How can i see these post on pinmapple. Expecting a replay from @pinmapple

Hi there, I see you are new to Hive, so welcome.

Hive is a social network, and engagement with the rest of the community is important and also helps to raise your profile and grow your account. You are posting quite frequently, but barely connect with other people and that does not help to get more eyes on your posts. Perhaps you want to consider being more active in your engagement, visiting other people's blogs, and reading and commenting on them. Time and effort spent on this will be beneficial to you in the long run.

@livinguktaiwan Thank you for your suggestions. Am trying to interact with more friends in Hive. As you mentioned am new in this social network so i have some limitations. I hope i can clear it gradually also am expecting supports from all you hive friends. @livinguktaiwan also comment if there is any errors in activities in Hive.

Four days ago you were given the exact same advice by @mipiano but you did not heed to it. Since your response to her, you have made 10 comments all on your own post, and you have made two new post, but not a single comment to anybody else's posts.

Imagine youself first moving to a new village and people come to visit your home to make you welcome. But you never return the favour and don't visit people back. Eventually people will stop visiting you and you will be ignored by the other villagers. Hive is like the village, it is a community of mutual connections. You can choose to live in recluse and that is perfectly fine as well.

Hive is decentralised and there are no rules, only community practices, so you can do whatever you like. @mipiano and myself are dropping by to offer support and guidance to help newbies integrate, of course it is ultimately up to you on how you run your account. There is only so much we can do.

All the best

@livinguktaiwan I apologize for the mistakes what I made. Since I have a confusion, on my posts did I mention a Hive community member or the name of the local people who I meet.
If I mention someone from our HIVE family if there is any Limitation. I am not sure about the privacy protocol on HIVE
@livinguktaiwan sorry for asking more questions to you