Pinusilan Blue Lagoon - A day trip - NORTHERN SAMAR PHILIPPINES

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

Pinusilan cover.png

Yesterday I went east of Catarman. We were convinced by one of my cousins closest family friends to not go to an eco park through the mangroves that she had already visited in the past and was not keen to go.

Pinusilan Blue Lagoon.

We were going to be guided there by the friend 'Buddy', who insisted we start at 6 in the morning. We had attended a family party for an aunts 83rd birthday. I left early because they were already trying to ply me wth beer which I always find hard to refuse. Beer just has that certain grip to my will power. I'm digressing.

image.png

image.png

Leaving early meant I could go to sleep early and have a good rest since we were drinking the Friday night till 2 in the morning. Unbeknownst to me there was a party in full swing at the resort I was staying so sleep became a long drawn out quest till about 2 in the morning again. Setting my alarm was a good thing or else I would have just gone through the morning missing the whole event.

Sunsets.

image.png

I woke up at 5 on the dot, there was a loud commotion on the road outside the resort. I was thinking it was a street party by some teens who were still trying to make their night last. Only to find out it was a fun run for the university. So the morning for me was a loud affair. This was a blessing in disguise, I see the positive. Giving me the impetous to get up and take an early rise out of the cabin and head towards my cousins house so we can all leave early as planned.

Filipino time strikes again. The guide is missing. Uncontactable. The 6 AM start became a 7 AM start. Worse they drove like a psycho trying to get lost time. I have never been to this place and there is no signal after Catarman. It is the province area with very limited signal. The road we went on is not even on Google maps. Semira to Palapag, a newly built path through the mountain bypassing the need to use a boat to cross to the other side of Samar.

They flew like a mad herring with their feathers blazed into oblivion, leaving me with my other cousins husband as the car in front of me to help me along to get tot the place, I was only able to follow them since their dog was in the car with them and forced them to stop along the way to allow it to poop or pee.

We arrived at the view to the lagoon.

image.png

image.png

We finally caught up with the guide and my other cousins in another car. Three cars with one motorbike. If I had known they were going to drive like that I would've just got in the car with them. My cousin could tell I was pissed. But of course I just gave them a snide remark about leaving the slowest guy who has no clue how to get to a place not even visible through the Google maps app.

After some photos of the view to the lagoon we got to the place and of course I quickly got into the lagoon. There is a half built walkway to the island. Not sure why its unfinished guessing it is just a few months old. Looks sturdy and would be great to have it finished so there is no need to wade into the water with the jagged rocks as your path to the island.

The lagoon is so good. The water in it is the darkest blue and it breathes as the sea swells and contracts like the island is alive and it is the breath of it. It's ilfe force.

Time flies when you're having fun.

image.png

To get there is a trek and I would say it is not for the easily lost since there is no signal there. The road is unfinished, about 80% already cemented and I would highly recommend you have your GPS apps already in order when you start your journey from Catarman if you are starting from there. Bring food and water since there are no shops in the resort near the lagoon. Only cottages are hireable at the moment. I think this will be a must visit place in the not too distant future. I mean just check out this video.

Oh and sunscreen, SPF 120 so you do not burn since today as I write this my skin feels like its been barbequed.

image.png

Take aways from this trip for me are, the time spent with my nieces and nephews allowed me to see how they are growing up. I have already started to put influence into one niece by teaching her how to swim. My cousin and her husband are very doting on her that she has been allowed to just say no to things that she herself are afraid to do like, start swimming. Which to me is not right. My blood runs in her veins and I will not allow them to be disadvantaged by any soft parenting. Plus I am an uncle so I can pretty much be either soft and just let it be or I can be the hard but knowledgeable one who imparts some things to the next generation. *I choose the latter.* Second it is very soul satisfying to have family with you when you are kind of lost in your own *Little Idaho* to remind you there is some positives in life if you just allow them to happen.

image.png

break page.png

Thanks for your time

If you enjoy my posts, and would like to support me with more than an upvote, thank you very much, see my links below.


Browse merch here.


Click Image

Geomining to a better future referral link if you decide to support me

Click Image

bitcoin public wallet.png

Click Image

Shameless referral link to space game

image.png
Drop in say hello.

My post favourite, by me.



Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You are in my province @akumagai, hoping your enjoying your stay in Samar.

Hey you want to have coffee man? Meetup?
I am just trying to fill my time here.

ohhhh, Im Currently in Cebu my friend

That is a big lagoon. Thank you for your sharing.

You are welcome.
It's worth sharing that's for sure.

Congratulations @akumagai! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1886.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: