Carcassonne: four days back in the Middle Age

in Pinmapple6 months ago

Ciao, people of Hive! ✌️
Have you ever heard about Carcassonne?
It's a very distinctive place in the south of France, well-known because, in addition to the modern town, it hosts the largest and best-preserved medieval castle in the world. I dreamed this travel since I was a child, but for some reason I've often postponed. In June 2022 I finally broke the tie.
IMG_3738.JPG
The view on the castle from the Pont Vieux, the medieval Bridge.


The moment you lay eyes on the fortress, the Cité, is one of those moments you will never forget. Something breaks inside you, suddenly: nothing is more real and the present itself fades away, drowned in magic.
IMG_3739.JPG
Murales on the way to the fortress.
IMG_3805.JPG
IMG_3989.JPG
IMG_3785.JPG
IMG_3748.JPG
IMG_3766.JPG
A specimen of wild Alecaltab walking around the walls.
IMG_3741.JPG
A little square inside the stronghold.
IMG_20220620_195507.jpg
Having lunch in the stronghold. Cassoulet, the typical dish of this area: a rich and slow-cooked stew with beans and many kinds of meat - pork and ham, mutton, partridge. Strange, but delicious!


The place was not crowded at all. Pleasant surprise for me, because the silence and the open spaces gave me the chance to think, to take time for enjoying details, to feel everything in a deeper way. I managed to explore every corner of the fortress, and found also time to interact with locals, shop owners and tourists. At the same time, the quiet vibes helped me to focus and take inspiration from everything. I have a sweet memory of the hours I spent writing on my notebook, sitting in the streets, on the walls or in some cafè.
IMG_20220620_173242.jpg
Château Comtal: a fortress into the fortress!


The Château Comtal (Count's Castle) was once the safest place in the entire stronghold, serving as the residence for the count and his family, and acting as the center of power. Today, it's a museum, and you need to purchase a ticket to enter, but it's definitely worth it... especially because there is no other access to walk on the highest walls.

By the way, does this place seem familiar?
You might have seen it somewhere, yes, since Carcassonne was the location for the famous movie Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves, starring Kevin Costner, Morgan Freeman, and Alan Rickman playing the role of the Sheriff of Nottingham.

Now... time to climb the walls!
IMG_3836.JPG
IMG_3859.JPG
IMG_3839.JPG
IMG_3843.JPG
IMG_3860.JPG
IMG_3837.JPG
This was actually my last day here. Since I had never been in the southern France, I decided to explore some other cities and left Carcassonne the morning after. I'll tell you more about this in my next posts!

There is still a moment I have to tell you about, and a picture I have to show you. Dulcis in fundo, Latins said: the sweetest comes at the end.
My time in this city was almost over, but, before running to the station, I went to visit the Church of Saint-Vincent.
I was super tired and my feet were hurting a lot, but I had a goal and I couldn't miss it: to reach the top of the church's tower and take a photograph of the whole fortress from the highest place of the city.
464 steps later... mission accomplished!
IMG_3997.JPG
IMG_3999.JPG
View from the Church of Saint-Vincent.


I know what you're thinking: next time, better to buy a flying drone 😁

🙏 As always, dear Hive people, my last words are for you. I hope you enjoyed this little virtual travel with me. Thank you once again for your attention, your time and your support. Let me know what you think in the comments below! 🙏


See you down the road!

Alessandro

Sort:  

Historical place is always interesting for me. Its structure describe everything what happened. Its really amazing for me.

Enjoy.

Yes, I agree. I was walking on the walls imagining to see a medieval scenario all around me, imagining a battle,a siege or a normal day in the city, with soldiers, farmers, shop owners, archers on the wall… the power of the stone is incredible. When I touch it, so hard and cold, I feel like it is preserving an infinite energy and the whole memory of the human history :)
Thanks for your comment, was really nice!

Congratulations @alecaltab! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.
You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2067.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

The details about the Château Comtal and its transformation into a museum, along with the historical context about its role in the movie "Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves," add depth to the narrative. Climbing the walls and capturing the panoramic view from the Church of Saint-Vincent must have been a truly rewarding experience, even with the 464 steps.😂

Yeah, it was... after walking that much in a few days my feet were full of blisters, I couldn't even move a step. The old guardian of the church made fun of me all the time 😂 but I tend not to complain. Pain will pass, memories are forever!

Excellent post

Thank you so much 🙏
I'm going to publish the second part in 8 hours, 21:30 Italian time, just in case you're interested.
And nice to meet you, I'm Alessandro :)

EDIT. I Just noticed that you're from Andalucía. What a wonderful place. You should be proud :)