What does the sunset mean?

in Pinmapple6 months ago (edited)

IMG_0047.JPG
.
Really, what does the sunset mean?

Scientists and astronomers would have no doubt about this: it is simply a hydrogen and helium ball moving beyond one of the countless horizons of our planet.

A painter could perceive it as a magnificent explosion of colors on an infinite canvas. For one of the greatest painters ever, a strange Dutchman living in France in September 1888, it was time to find a nice position on the Rhône’s shore.

For most workers, and for children playing in the streets as well, it’s time to go back home, albeit with quite opposite moods.
For a wolf, it’s time to hunt; for a deer, time to hide.
For mariners, it’s time to put the map aside and start looking for answers in the immense starry roof over their heads.

Those who live further in the West would simply call it dawn.
Victor Hugo defines it as no sound, yet, for Claude Debussy, it is the most musical thing ever existed.

For The Little Prince, it's something you can watch 43 times in a day.

For Atum, the Egyptian god of the setting sun, it's nothing more than a job.

Veliero calasetta, 25 novembre - Copia.jpg
.
I'm pretty sure you're asking yourself a question now.
What does sunset really mean for him?

For me, the sunset encompasses all these things and more, yet simultaneously, it is none of them. It’s an eternal metaphor, an acceptance of being part of the whole circle of life, with all its wonders and despite its cruelties. Above all, it’s a childhood friend that never ages, a warrior unable to perish, a love that never fades away. And here in Sardinia, as in every other place where I go, it’s something I persist in considering home.

IMG_1058.jpg
IMG_1071.jpg
IMG_1320 (2).JPG
IMG_2395.JPG
IMG_20171123_183445_505.jpg
IMG_20171124_192002_096.jpg
IMG_20171206_143230_018.jpg
IMG_20181201_143818_764.jpg
IMG-20180911-WA0005.jpg
.
Amazing people of Hive, thank you once again for your attention and your time. I hope these pictures can inspire you with a warm feeling and some moments of relax. For all the rest, you can find me in the comments! ✌️


See you soon!

Alessandro

Sort:  

Congratulations @alecaltab! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 50 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

So good to see you really like it here on the Hive! I'm glad you are into it. I like your writing and I feel like I can learn a lot by just reading your posts :)

Oh, I really hope you can learn a lot... so far it was the opposite, I'm getting tired 😁
Yeah, seriously, I'm appreciating this place. I always used to write diaries in my life, and now I have an occasion to share my feelings. And if this can inspire you or someone else somehow, I'm really happy :)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!