A Sicilian May Day in Syracuse!!

in Pinmapple16 days ago

Blue and Orange Bold Travel Vlog  YouTube Thumbnail (1).png


Hello beautiful people! How are you?

I'm spending May Day with my relatives in Syracuse. We've all taken advantage of this holiday to meet up in this Sicilian city. I have to say, it's been a while since I last visited, and it's always very charming.

Snapinsta.app_241260893_372415094431321_5369206272926990375_n_1080.jpg

I'll be here pretty much until tomorrow morning. In fact, I already arrived last night because I was afraid of finding some traffic today; these roads are usually quite busy during holidays. I'm glad I came here because I also had the chance to take some photos and show you this beautiful Sicilian city, which I think is worth visiting, especially if you come in spring or autumn.

thevantidote-apr-29-2024 (7).jpeg

Compared to other Sicilian cities, it's a bit less populated; I think it has a population of around 110,000 people. However, its historic center, with its Baroque style, is very beautiful to see. Unfortunately, some parts have been rebuilt fairly recently because, sadly, there are occasional earthquakes here. From my point of view, it could use a bit more attention, because as you've seen in the photos I took, there are some beautiful Roman ruins that, unfortunately, are not well highlighted, but they are still freely and openly accessible.
I'd like to remind everyone that the city has been declared a UNESCO World Heritage site since 2005, which demonstrates the artistic and historical significance of this Sicilian city.

thevantidote-apr-29-2024 (3).jpeg

thevantidote-apr-29-2024 (2).jpeg

Another great thing about these very characteristic places in Sicily is the chance to experience local folklore and traditions firsthand, with all the typical transportation methods; the most common one is the "ape" (a small three-wheeled vehicle), which locals use to transport all sorts of things because the streets are quite narrow.
I must say that this morning there were a lot of people, and I noticed quite a few foreign tourists, which is really nice to see.

thevantidote-apr-29-2024 (1).jpeg

thevantidote-apr-29-2024.jpeg

I have to say that recently, Sicily is experiencing a considerable boost in tourism compared to other Italian regions. While many people think Sicily is popular because of its beautiful sea, in reality, compared to some regions in the north, we're still quite behind in terms of tourist numbers.

thevantidote-apr-29-2024 (5).jpeg

Maybe it's because, as in the case of Syracuse, people don't know much about these places and are unaware of the architectural and artistic treasures they hold.
Right now, as I'm writing this post, I've just finished eating, and I think I'll spend the afternoon at the beach. I hope you all have a lovely holiday with your families. See you soon, guys!

Sort:  

Congratulations @alessiaart98! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2198.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: