Visiting Fernando Botero's museum - One of my favorite places in Bogotá

in Pinmapplelast year

IMG20221119161733.jpg

IMG20221119162238.jpg

IMG20221119161254.jpg

Bogota has always been one of my favorite cities, I used to go there with my parents very often when I was little and I even came to live there a couple of years ago, so it has a special place in my heart. One of the things I like the most about it is that, as a good capital city, it has a very rich cultural agenda, there is always some event either musical, art or exhibition happening and naturally we have some that are permanent and that are a must when visiting the city. My boyfriend @richardalexis visited the city with me for the first time a few days ago, so, necessarily we had to go see the museums downtown, today, I will tell you about our visit to my favorite museum: the Botero museum.

IMG20221119161546.jpg

IMG20221119161001.jpg

IMG20221119160922.jpg

I have always found Botero's work impressive, how satirically with exaggerations he shows us his perception of reality and how this makes his work appreciable by adults and children.

This museum is located in the neighborhood of La Candelaria and is administered by the Bank of the Republic, which is also responsible for other museums such as the Gold Museum which houses pre-Hispanic handicrafts and the Coin Museum, which this time was under renovation. This museum houses the largest collection of Botero, a mixture of oil paintings, sculptures of different materials, watercolors and even some works in charcoal, also, there are also a lot of works by renowned artists such as Picasso, Klimt, among others and the best of all this is that access to the museum is completely free.

Throughout the exhibition, we can see all kinds of works: portraits, still lifes and even landscapes. My favorite of the whole exhibition is the reinterpretation of the Mona Lisa, I think the author hit the nail on the head by importing his style to Da Vinci's painting.

IMG20221119160839.jpg

IMG20221119160806.jpg

Finally I must point out that the exhibition is mounted in an old house, one of those that have a courtyard with a fountain in the center and that gives it a picturesque and charming aesthetic, this being the icing on the cake to make the visit more enjoyable. That's all for today, thanks for coming this far, goodbye!

IMG20221119162943.jpg

IMG20221119161332.jpg

IMG20221119173656.jpg

All the pictures in this post were taken using my Realme 8 pro

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you :)

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1713.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: