Visiting Warner Bros. Studio Tour Tokyo - The Making of Harry Potter

in Pinmapple7 months ago

Hi! Hello! 👋

This will be a long read but I hope you'll stay until the end.

Just this weekend, I had the chance to visit the recently opened Warner Bros. Studio here in Tokyo with friends. The experience is still fresh in my memories and I'm still giddy and feel excited just writing about it.

The ticket costs 6,600yen for an adult (includes tax) - you can add options according to your preferences. Visit their official website here. You may want to check out their calendar in advance if you are planning to visit the studio as the tickets tend to sell out quickly, specially the weekends. It's a 4hr-long tour so I would suggest you take an earlier entry time schedule and just check every attraction slowly. Maybe just spend the whole day there or something 😆

Toshimaen Station

Anyway, I arrived with a friend about an hour before my entry time. Along with other friends, I had the 4pm schedule but another friend's schedule was at 3:30pm. I decided to tag along with her. We were able to take the train, Seibu line, going to Toshimaen station. There are 2 Toshimaen stations but you have to be on the Seibu line to be able to see the Harry Potter-themed train and station.

Baby Harry, Ron, & Hermione in Seibu line train. Aren't they cute?

Toshimaen Station

Still at Toshimaen Station

Studio Entrance

The studio is about 5mins away from the station, you can follow the signs to get there or just follow the crowd 😆

Entrance

Once you've entered, you'll see this giant horntail right above you.

Hungarian Horntail

Shop and Food Hall

Before you go start the tour, you may want to check out the shop for props you want to use to get pictures. There are items that can be customized with your name like the cloak, wand, notebooks, sweaters, and more but I forgot 😆 So as an irresponsible spender, I bought a cloak 😆😭 It costs 13,000yen (including tax). The shop is quite big so if you want to check out some items, go there early. To customize your items with your name will take time too, my cloak took 20mins.

The shop is quite big but here are a few pictures

Here's me with the cloak. Notice my name right below the emblem 😆

The food hall is also right across the shop. We didn't check the food their as it wasn't really time to eat yet. But the banners looked cool so I took a snap.

Food Hall

Attractions
The Great Hall and The Moving Staircase

When we actually started the tour, in the area we were waiting, we were told not to take pictures and videos. Different crews explained some stuff and then we watched a short video. Right after that we were led to the doors for the first attraction, The Great Hall. From this point we can now take picture. If it's your birthday, you get to open the door.

Dumbledore

McGonagall and the sorting hat

Although the great hall is amazing, the moving staircase has mostly caught my attention. The rooms are right next to each other so I moved on quickly. The stairs actually moved but we only get to see it in action and not ride it. But this room is full of paintings. We went to the stations where we take a short video and then find ourselves among the paintings. Like in the movies, we get to be one of those paintings that move.

Moving staircase on the right

Stations to take video for the moving painting

Dorm Rooms

The dorm rooms looked exactly like in the movies. I gotta say, the Slytherin common is more my style than Gryffindor standing there up close. It looks so neat and elegant, though I would prefer lighter colors like cream or white. Please excuse the statues, they have no heads.

Gryffindor Common Room

Gryffindor Dorm Room

Slytherin Common Room

Still part of the Slytherin common room

Quidditch

In this attraction, we get to be an audience for the quidditch game Harry Potter played. When it was about to be our turn, the crew said we will be on the Slytherin side, but one of us said he wanted to be on the Gryffindor side so we had to let the next people lining go in first 😆
In here, the crew asked us to act out certain scenes like celebrate if our team scores or boo if the other team scores, etc. Of course, I overacted 😆 We also get to see the video at the end. Good thing I took a full video there as we only get to download the cut version for free. We only found out the next day that we had to pay to be able to download the full video, oh the consequence of not reading 😆

Team Gryffindor

Just a screenshot of a scene of the video I took

Dumbledore's Office and Parlour

Visited the studio just a few days after the news of Michael Gambon's (Dumbledore's actor) passing brought out a few emotions standing there in his office. Just looking at his portrait in the parlour right behind the headmaster's desk made me happy and sad at the same time.

Dumbledore's Office

Dumbledore's Parlour with his portrait

Entrance to Dumbledore's office

Some snaps

Here are a few snaps in the area. I forgot in which order these are.

French Headmistress Maxime. She's so tall like OMG!!!

Krum

Here's me in a little library corner pretending to be looking for a book

Defence Against Dark Arts Classroom

The Potion Room

I forgot where this is help!

Forbidden Forrest

Another interactive attraction is in here. We also had fun here creating our own patronus, I don't know what kind of animal I got but it looked like a beaver or a squirrel. I saw buckbeak and some dementors 😬

Buckbeak and Hagrid

Weasley Family's car

Cantaur Fam. Firenze is that you?

I think this dementor is shy, like it's his first day of work.

Hagrid's Crib (Hut)

At first I was a bit disappointed that it was only an outside view but rounding up the back made me so happy. I get to see the inside of Hagrid's hut.
What a cozy dining place

Awwe look at those teddy bears in his bed!

Backlot Cafe Food

After a few hours of walking and admiring everything we encountered, we took a little break at the Backlot Cafe. This is right after Hagrid's Hut.

I bought the butterbeer and popcorn set (1,100yen). Sitting down, I complained about why there were so many popcorn on the ground. Upon opening mine, I instantly knew why 🤦‍♀️ Btw, we get to take the butterbeer cup home. It's part of what we paid for. And no, you don't have a choice when you buy it.

Few popcorns fell into my butterbeer. It was good though!

At first we thought to just have a bit of snacks but later on realizing that we'd complete the tour late, we decided to have dinner right there. It was not as crowded as I expected even though it was on a weekend.

They have plated set meals according to each house. I decided to get Slytherin plate as the sausage looked so good and paired it with orange juice. It was sooo good I was so full. Here's what the plates are like:

Slytherin Plate - Bangers and Mash (2,900yen)

Hufflepuff Plate - Roast Chicken (2,800yen)

Gryffindor Plate - Roast Beef (3,200yen - the most expensive)

Unfortunately none of us had the Ravenclaw plate as we didn't really feel like having it at that moment. Ravenclaw plate is Fish Pie (2,800yen). They also sell ala carte items aside from the meal plates. The prices include tax.

Dursley's House and Knight Bus

Continuing on, we we're greeted with the Dursley's house. Inside was the scene where Aunt Marge transformed into a balloon 😆

Little Harry's cupboard room under the stairs.

0-02-08-23d4a24e9970e2ec6d810b04223182b6c4e8136838e40c10cdc111c6168e6990_1c6db772ac8b8d.jpg

Bye Aunt Marge lol Dasurv!

Kitchen

I am such a sucker for a nice kitchen and cute tea pot & cup sets. Makes me want to steal this. IT'S SO CUTE!!!!! 😖🤦‍♀️😭

Right outside is the knight bus. We really couldn't get inside but that's gonna stop me from hopping on the steps.

0-02-08-de8b6e7df5ce5f61ea717ba600f3d7a4a79a72fabc8e815bf49090fb2b80ffe6_1c6db772adc4d0.jpg

Platform 9 3/4

I didn't manage to take a picture of the Hogwarts Express train from the outside but inside the train were different scenes the movies. For each carriage was a train scene. I did not take picture of each here's a few.

First meeting with Ron

With Hedwig and Hermione

With Professor Lupin

And of course here's me trying to push a fixed cart on the wall with all my might not realizing it doesn't move 🤦‍♀️

There's a store just beside this area that sells items limited only to this shop. And yes my irresponsible self, with no self-control or whatsoever, has bought something impulsively. No regrets though, I already bought it, can't return it back anymore 😆

Cute bag (6,450yen)

Ministry of Magic

Next stop is the Ministry of Magic where there's also another interactive attraction(?) where you supposedly came out of the floo network. But these looked cooler, and yes it includes the food.

Ministry of Magic

Food cart somewhere in the corner. I wanna eat those bread and muffins so baaad. Unfortunately, it's just fake food. But ugh!!!!

Diagon Alley

Moving on is the Diagon Alley. I was so excited to get into this area but unfortunately time is running out so I had to rush taking pictures. It was great but I wasn't able to fully enjoy it.

Gringotts

Uhh not sure where this is

Weasley's Shop

Tour End

At the end of the tour is a massive design of the whole Hogwarts school. The light would also change to mimic night and day. Took a picture of the night view, please enjoy it too.

I think this is the back area?

This shot made it look like everything's covered in snow.

In between sets you will find some information about how the movie was made. The preparations for designing dresses down to the smallest detail of a window sill. Everything was so detailed. If you are into interior design, architecture, or arts, you would definitely love the little details.

Anyway, I really enjoyed and was amazed by everything in the studio, even though my feet were screaming for me to rest due to walking nonstop for hours. I would love to visit again and just enjoy everything slowly. And also eat all the food I can eat, I want to try them all. Also it would be nice if they'd offer some sort of an annual pass. Whenever I feel like getting some butter beer, I would just randomly hit the studio and head directly to the Backlot cafe. Or maybe just do some chilling and vibing. Ahh it's so nice just thinking about it. Words are not enough to describe the happiness and excitement I felt that day. I hope you enjoyed this blog.

Thank you for reading and see you on my next blog.

Eating-Apple,
Apple

PS: All photos are mine unless stated otherwise.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wahahahaha I could still remember the exciting moments here 😅
Will post about my experience soon! ☺️

!PIZZA

Yessss, still daydreaming about it til today hahaha go blog it naaaaaa

Congratulations @appleeatingapple! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List

Good heaven, I just stop converting the prices of each items you get that you mentioned here (≧▽≦) parang gusto ko hilahin bag mo tapos itago ba, hahaha, just kidding (≧▽≦).

But seriously, this is a Harry Potter Paradise. Surely, fans of Harry Potter will spend a lot just to see this. But base on what you said na mabilis maubos ang ticket then it is really happening now. This is really awesome gosh. If only I can teleport, I'll do that just to experience this too. And super bet ko yonf Cloak kahit nakakalula ang price. But for the awesome experience diba, why not. Hindi ako naiinggit pramis, the place is superb 😭😭😭

Living here in Japan for a few years already made me realize cost of living is totally different here so I had to change my mindset na d dapat mag convert every time na gagastos ako hahaha pero umiyak pa rin wallet ko 😆😆😭😭
come visit Japan, travel-wise I promise it's worth it talaga wag lng sa summer hahaha

I also watch somewhere na better not convert talaga, pero parang ako, diko wari mapipigilan HAHAHA.

Ipon ulit tapos punta na agad sa next travel destination. Salamat na agad sa virtual tour, uwu.

Why not summer? Super init ba? Mas wagas pa kay Pinas?

sa Pinas kasi ma ffeel mo may hangin pa dito waleys, sobrang humid talaga. D mo ma eenjoy gumala dahil sa init.

Ay ganon, maybe kasi super daming tao? If ever, mas maganda pumunta sa Winter ahaha. Kaso kamusta naman, if kakayanin ng katawal ko lol

Personally mas gusto ko autumn. Maganda din spring dahil sa cherry blossoms. 🌸

Omg, back in 2015 nag Osaka ako for the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, and now there's a studio in Tokyo. <3 <3 <3 and I met Draco Malfoy in Tokyo during my trip. I hope I can go back to Japan. I want to visit this.

Hope you can visit the studio here too.

This looks AMAZING! I’ve been to the one in London but I definitely need to go to this one! There’s so many things that aren’t in the London studio.

Yes, it was amazing!! You should come visit 😁 I want to go to the London studio as well but alas I don't have time (and money) to travel far away for now. Maybe someday soon.

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2021.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you! ☺️

Potterheads unite! Too bad, Dumbledore actor just recently died 😌

Yes, got sad when we reached Dumbledore's Office area 🥲