An autumn tiptoe through Krakow's Kazimierz - the miraculous spring and Schindler's List Passage

in Pinmapplelast year

I often walk around Kazimierz, but I still don't know many of its nooks and crannies. At the beginning, I want to show you the place I discovered only in February this year. I found it by accident, walking around with no purpose.

That day my legs carried me towards the Vistula River, taking me away from the former Jewish quarter's most popular attractions. That's how I ended up on Skałeczna Street, which momentarily transported me to another dimension.

Two weeks ago, I visited the place for the second time and had the same impressions as at the first meeting - I magically found myself in a different era. Here I can calm down and distance myself from the world and its modern problems.

1665767159913.jpg

_1665767159908.jpg

1665767159903.jpg

The street leads to the Pauline monastery and the church Na Skałce (en: on The Rock). Few tourists venture into this alley, but I bet many of them have seen this sacred complex from the Vistula side. Located not far from the Wawel Royal Castle, walking along the boulevard on the right side of the river, it is impossible not to notice it.

The church from the side of the Vistula River - a photo from February this year.

1644937719137.jpg

The site where the church now stands has a rich history. Due to its ideal location, the first human settlements were established here as early as 4,000 years ago. It can be said that the high limestone rocks by the Vistula River (Wawel was built on one of them) are the cradle of Cracow.

Skałeczna Street leads to an ornate gate through which you enter the monastery area - you can walk freely here.

1665767159878.jpg

1665767159895.jpg

1665767159890.jpg

1665767159886.jpg

1665767159817.jpg

When I was here the first time, I was most impressed by the historic St. Stanislaus Pond.

There was a natural reservoir here, and it had been an object of pagan worship for thousands of years. Later it was "taken over" by Christians, and they added their legend to it. The pond was encased in stone at the end of the 17th century. In this form we can admire it to this day.

1665767159842.jpg

1665767159851.jpg

In the 19th century, the course of the river was changed, the surrounding land was drained, and the city's sewer system was built, causing the pond to dry up. Almost 120 years ago, in search of an alternative water source, engineers drilled a well to a depth of almost 70 meters. They installed a system that pumps underground water into the pond. It turned out that the water from the well was extremely rich in minerals, so they built also a spring with healing drinking water. The faithful believe it has miraculous properties. I have not drunk it - it smells foul due to the hydrogen sulfide.

1665767159869.jpg

Let's move on. You can slip out of the courtyard through a side gate.

1665767159795.jpg

One last glance from the neighboring street at the church - you can see a hovering observation balloon moored on the other side of the Vistula.

1665767159784.jpg

Let's walk to a few more corners I love to visit, regardless of the season.

Until the beginning of the 19th century, Kazimierz was an independent town, so it had its market square (today Wolnica Square) and town hall. The former town hall building now houses an ethnographic museum.

1665767159751.jpg

A peaceful walk around the Basilica of Corpus Christi. We walk on the grounds of the old parish cemetery, which surrounded the church until the end of the 18th century.

1665767159740.jpg

1665767159746.jpg

1665767159723.jpg

1665767159695.jpg

1665767159717.jpg

1665767159675.jpg

1665767159684.jpg

A place I look into whenever I'm in Kazimierz - the passage between Józefa and Meiselsa Streets. Since the 1990s, it has been called the Schindler's List Passage because some scenes for the film were shot here.

1665767159585.jpg

1665767159617.jpg

1665767159658.jpg

Kazimierz is full of contrasts. It's good that the former Jewish quarter is alive and developing - we can see more and more renovated tenements and modern restaurants besieged by tourists. I, however, love those parts of it that take me back in time. They are the ones that preserve the spirit of the place for future generations.

1665767159647.jpg

1665767159621.jpg

1665767159571.jpg

1665767159552.jpg

1665767159326.jpg

I love places where I can feel a connection to the past. They don't have to be perfect or beautiful, just authentic.

ornament.png

--- Thanks for stopping by! --- @astinmin
I'm the only author of the text and photos

ornament.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @astinmin! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 11th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Kazimierz and its unique atmosphere is what makes Krakow even more beautiful than Prague for me ;) I loved hanging around those little mysterious streets literally filled with history. Great captures my friend, I will be happy to share them with my followers in the next round of my upvote giveaway.

Thank you 🌼

Kazimierz and its unique atmosphere is what makes Krakow even more beautiful than Prague for me ;)

There's a good chance I'll personally verify it soon - I'm going to visit Prague with my friend. Just for a weekend, but I'm very excited anyway 😊

Awesome! What was the last time you were here? :)

Exactly 30 years ago! It was my first trip abroad :)

Wow, that´s a long time :) You must be pretty excited then. Feel free to hit me up if you need any tips or recommendations ;)

Thank you very much! This time we will spend only two full days in Prague, so we will probably only visit the old town area. For now, I check the weather forecast every day 😁

The weather here in Prague has been pretty nice lately and it should stay like this for at least another week ;) A decent amount of sunshine (for this part of the year) and the temperatures between 10 and 15 degrees. Great weather for a trip ;) Enjoy!

Congratulations @astinmin! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 50 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 2 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-10 - Winners List
Be ready for the 11th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!