Chasing spring in Grundarfjörður

in Worldmappin2 months ago

Read this post on TravelFeed for the best experience


There were a few days in March when I was convinced that spring had arrived. Perhaps it had, but only for a moment, because we had to wait another two months for the final farewell to winter. At that moment, I was overcome with euphoria. Within a few days, almost all the snow in the area had melted, and I could go for a walk a bit longer than before.

Every one of my big and small journeys here begins with stepping out the door, just like in Tolkien's story. I could stop there, and it would still be wonderful.

But let's continue, it's so warm!

This time, I left the path leading to Kirkjufell, and went up.

I have a favorite path where you're more likely to encounter sheep than people. But it was still too early for the sheep in March - they didn't return to the mountains until April or May (I don't remember exactly when they appeared again). So I was completely alone on the track that day.

The sun was still very low.

I love the view of our little fjord and town - you don't have to climb high, just twenty minutes is enough.

Just a few more steps and Kirkjufell emerges, with smaller Stöð behind it. And far beyond them, the Western Fjords loom on the horizon.

It was so warm that I could take off my jacket. I feel like the sun here heats up more intensely. I mean, when a cloud covers it, it's like stepping out of an oven straight into a refrigerator.

I’m not a selfie person, but this time I couldn’t help myself :) I just still can’t believe I live here.
I'm not a selfie person, but this time I couldn't help myself :) I just still can't believe I live here.

Let's take a look at the mountains. The tallest peak in this group is called Örn, which means Eagle. Last fall, I approached it twice much closer but gave up further hiking due to the short day. I was also afraid of solo hiking in unfamiliar conditions - there are no trails here like those I know from Poland.

Örn photographed during a hike in October.

That March day, I didn't go any further. Although there was no snow on my path, the ground was very soggy, and my feet unexpectedly sank into small pebbles. I could hear a quiet rustling as water flowed between them.

One last look at the surroundings.

As for this whole spring thing - two months ago, I found out that there are really only two seasons here - summer and winter 😉

Örn and the other peaks of the Helgrindur range are still waiting for me. It's June, with the longest days of the year, but the weather does not spoil us. I think I will go on really long hike only in July. In the meantime, I'm exploring here and there around the Snæfellsnes Peninsula, which I also write about on my other profile @wadera. It's in Polish only, but if anyone wants to see just photos, you're welcome to check it out :)

See you!

--- Thanks for stopping by! --- @astinmin
I'm the only author of the text and photos


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Awesome scenery

natural beauty.. which is very nice in that place..

Congratulations, your post has been added to the TravelFeed Map! 🎉🥳🌴

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to TravelFeed Map
  • Click the create pin button
  • Drag the marker to where your post should be. Zoom in if needed or use the search bar (top right).
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (any Hive frontend)
  • Or login with Hive Keychain or Hivesigner and click "create post" to post to Hive directly from TravelFeed
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!
PS: You can import your previous Pinmapple posts to the TravelFeed map.
map
Opt Out

Congratulations, your post has been added to WorldMapPin! 🎉

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to WorldMapPin
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was curated by the Visual Shots Team | Be part of our Curation Trail | Delegations are Welcome

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Great shots! I would also love to live in a place with this kind of sceneries. Though I'm not sure if I will survive the winter as I've also haven't experienced it. 😂

Indeed, winter here can be harsh for some people :)

Congratulations @astinmin! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: You can now read your favourite travel blogs on your phone. Plus, blogging on-the-go just got easier! Download our app on the Apple App Store or get it on Google Play.

Congratulations @astinmin! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2024

Congratulations @astinmin! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2024