What can you see in Prague one hour before the train departs?

in Pinmapplelast year

I could end each day with a shout: give me back my time!

Since my trip to Prague, winter has come and gone. Sadly, almost all the snow from my last post has already melted. We have Christmas and are getting ready to welcome the New Year, so the trip seems like a distant adventure. And it's only been six weeks :)

All the photos are waiting in the folders until I introduce a bit of discipline into my life and finally start publishing them. I greatly respect users who blog regularly and glance at them with a bit of envy. I know I can do it too, just need discipline!

I don't know why, but I have an overwhelming urge to show photos from the day I left Prague, skipping, for now, the explorations of Saturday and Sunday. I left the city on Monday morning and had about an hour between leaving the hotel and the train departure.

To the train station, I took 20 minute walk. The day was beautiful and I really regretted that I couldn't stay longer.

On the way from the hotel to the train station - Wenceslas Square.

1668445752965.jpg

1668445752946.jpg

1668445752918.jpg

A few steps from the station is an oriental fairy-tale Jerusalem (Jubilee) Synagogue, blended into the surrounding townhouses. It appears suddenly - you walk down the street expecting nothing, and it emerges from around the corner. The oriental structure gives the impression of being carved into the wall of the tenements.

1668445752890.jpg

1668445752822.jpg

Even if you only change in Prague and have half an hour of free time - it's worth a look!

1668445752802.jpg

Under the synagogue, unfortunately, my phone was frozen, and I couldn't take any more pictures. I had my camera tucked deep in my luggage and didn't want to take it out.
The phone malfunction frightened me because I only had an electronic ticket. I realized how addicted we are to electronics!

When I finally managed to get the phone working and the stress let go, I started looking around. The level we were waiting for a train was pretty ordinary, but when I looked up, I noticed a fragment of a richly decorated dome and guessed that the level above was much more exiting. I hadn't read about Prague's historic train station before, so what I saw after going up the stairs surprised me.

I love Art Nouveau, so I was entranced! The decorations, sculptures, beautiful railings, stained glass windows... not sure which way to look!

1668445752549.jpg

1668445752599.jpg

1668445752772.jpg

1668445752733.jpg

1668445752784.jpg

1668445752633.jpg

1668445752648.jpg

1668445752663.jpg

1668445752684.jpg

1668445752694.jpg

1668445752713.jpg

Unfortunately, I only managed to see the main hall with the dome because the train to Ostrava was about to arrive, and I had to run to the platform. And the historic building is big; it is also worth seeing from the outside, which I didn't manage to do. I also missed the sculptures commemorating the so-called Winton trains. It is a story related to World War II - Nicholas Winton was a British humanitarian who organized the transport of nearly 700 Jewish children from Nazi-occupied Czechoslovakia in 1939.

1668445752743.jpg

1668445752762.jpg

I was waiting for the train with a certain sense of insufficiency. I could have left the hotel earlier! Although, if it weren't for an accidental look-up, I wouldn't even know how beautiful Prague's train station is. Well, I will start my next visit to Prague with a thorough tour of this place!

I have to say that I also really liked the platforms' architecture. I'm a big fan of geometric shapes, harmony, and symmetry.

1668445752032.jpg

1668445752129.jpg

1668445752225.jpg

It calms me down :)

1668445752323.jpg

See you soon 🌺

ornament.png

--- Thanks for stopping by! --- @astinmin
I'm the only author of the text and photos

ornament.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aplusd ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I often see Prague in movies. So beautiful city.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I was blown by the art of the buildings of Prague. How I wish I could see this kind of beauty for real. I can only see this in movies.☺️

How I wish I could see this kind of beauty for real

I wish you that too!

Instead, you have daily views extraordinary to me :)

Wow..great architecture... I like your shots too.. So a nice place to wander while waiting for the train 😊

Oh yes, in such a place a delayed train is not a problem ;)

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1740.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

This is a great deal. A good photographer you are. I love every bit of the designed building

Thank you, @abdul01 🌸

Que lugar tan maravilloso, me ha encanto tu relato y fotografía, un lugar para tenerlo en mi lista de viajes pendientes

Que lugar tan maravilloso, me ha encanto tu relato y fotografía, un lugar para tenerlo en mi lista de viajes pendientes

Thank you very much and good luck with your travel list 🙂