You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rock, Sausage and Lingonberries

in Worldmappin3 years ago

I really enjoyed our little walk we took on Friday. It just seemed like the right time to go. For a change it was not raining, and had some clouds to make pictures interesting, and about the same temperature as you 46f (8c). I do like being in an area where in one hour we are in the mountains or in 15 minutes we can be on a sand beach. (it is far to crowded during the summer so just a winter visit place for us and sunsets on occasion).

It would be nice if we had some shelters with sides, but the roof only ones are not to bad, we just do not have enough of them.

Sort:  

I do like being in an area where in one hour we are in the mountains or in 15 minutes we can be on a sand beach.

This is my dream. I would love to live on the coast here. Friends just bought a small fixerupper cabin in the Finnish archipelago that is only accessible by boat. It is going to be pretty amazing when they renovate and build there. That is a little too remote for me, but I have always dreamt of a easy to maintain cabin that looks out to sea.

It would be nice if we had some shelters with sides, but the roof only ones are not to bad, we just do not have enough of them.

This place seems popular and there were three within a kilometer of each other. They are really handy and very common. I have never hiked up north in Lappland, but in the fall it is very common and there are these and empty cabins to use dotted all over the place. Finns are pretty outdoorsy people.

There are a few forestry maintained cabins along some of the hiking trails not many but they do seem to be popular also here in Alaska. I am not looking forward to the snow, but such is nature in the north. We had a pretty good frost last night, water was still dripping off the roof a little while ago.

I feel like I have been inside for two years now - it doesn't make the winter seem inviting...

One thing I like about winter is documenting my driveway. Every year it seems that it is the worst winter ever, or to soon or too late, this year I hope I remember to add the temperature to my post. Pretty soon I need to do the first one before the snow falls, which is pretty hard to time, but at least that first snow will go away pretty quick, but then all snow bets are off. I still need to get out and check the generator and refresh the gas.

Do you have one of those apps on your phone that you can take a shot of the drive and get weather information overlaid onto it?

The phone did come with a weather app. I look at it sometimes, but mostly my phone is turned off unless I need to use it. I am not sure if the app does drive overlays, just gives the weather for where you are.