You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where the Magpies Roam

in Pinmapple2 years ago

This is cool. I always thought magpies were only in Australia, after reading this I did a little research and turns out that the magpies we have here are not even related to the ones you have there. Ours are part of a different family and not even corvids. Who'd of thought. They do still show great intelligence though and tend to remember people.

Nice post :)

Sort:  

Thank you! Yeah, your maggies are a different kind of pie but still awesome nonetheless! You guys have some pretty cool corvids down there, like the Australian raven. Don't they have blue eyes? And do you have the pied crow, too, or is that more South Africa?
I need to travel the world to see all its corvids. What Hive blog that would be...

Im not sure about the Raven tbh, I know Bower-Birds have super blue/purple eyes. I'll have to pay more attention next time.
Birds aren't my area of expertise but ever since we had a peregrine falcon come into the rescue I have been trying to learn more about them, not even sure what a pied crow is haha.

That sounds like a pretty good life tbh.

Hell, being a rehabber sounds like a pretty good life, too!