You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's travel together #161 - Pădurea Letea (The Drowned Forest Letea)

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Wow. That would not be what I think of when I think of Romania.

We have some old oaks, typically called charter oaks that are pretty darn old, but we have Bristle Cone Pines. One is thought to be 2500 years old. They are pretty well protected, too. There's really only one place to see them, but there are a few populations in the Pacific Coastal Range of mountains.

Horses! Who would have thought a large population of wild horses in Romania? The pair that you show clearly look sleek if not fat, they are eating just fine. Wild horses in a wet forest. Amazing.

You've surprised me again. Thank you.

Sort:  

Ha, Romania is full of surprises! And I'm not even close from discovering all its treasures.

Wow, 2500 years old? So crazy! I'm really curious how it looks like. I've been fascinated by the oaks I've seen in my country which are a few hundreds of years old, I can't really imagine how it looks a tree that was part of some different ages.

As for the horses, they are really incredible! We do have another big population of wild horses but somewhere in the mountains. Yet another place I have to discover one day. :)

Thanks for reading and stopping by, and have a safe weekend!

So. I don't have a decent picture of Methusela. I lied. It's 5000 years old.

image.png

The western US has lots of wild horses and burros. I love to 'stalk' them and see them living free.

Omg, what a gem! I would love having something like this in miniature! I'm a big fan of little trees instead of the usual flowers everybody has in their houses. I hope it will last at least 5000 more years from now on!